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Insurance and Real Estate Committee 

 

AN ACT CONCERNING CRUMBLING CONCRETE FOUNDATIONS 

 

SUMMARY:  This act changes various policies affecting residential homes with 

foundations that are crumbling due to the presence of pyrrhotite (“crumbling 

concrete foundations”). Specifically, the act makes more buildings and building 

owners eligible for several assistance programs that support repairing or replacing 

crumbling concrete foundations by broadening the definition of “residential 

building” to include, among other things, buildings containing more than four 

condominium units (§ 2). It also correspondingly expands a concrete seller 

disclosure requirement and certain municipal bonding authorities, and makes 

conforming changes to income tax and other statutes.  

The act also changes the residential property condition report, which property 

owners must use to make disclosures to potential buyers before a sale, by: 

1. requiring owners to disclose and explain any information they have related 

to crumbling concrete;  

2. establishing additional disclosure requirements for regions affected by 

crumbling concrete foundations and anyone selling foreclosed residential 

property in an affected municipality; and 

3. requiring the disclosure of all significant defects in a property’s 

foundation, even if the seller fails to complete the residential disclosure 

report (§§ 5 & 6). 

It creates a private right of action allowing buyers to bring a civil suit to 

recover actual damages from sellers who fail to make the required disclosures (§ 

6). 

Additionally, the act: 

1. establishes a collapsing foundation supplemental loan program to 

guarantee loans made by banks and credit unions in Connecticut to owners 

of pyrrhotite-damaged buildings (§§ 7-12); 

2. changes Connecticut Foundations Solutions Indemnity Corp. (CFSIC) 

enabling statutes, removing an obligation to create a unified aid 

application and shortening certain deadlines (§ 1); 

3. changes the $12 Healthy Homes Fund insurance surcharge, including (a) 

changing when and on whom the surcharge is assessed and (b) requiring 

surplus lines brokers to collect and remit the surcharge on applicable 

policies (§ 3); 

4. specifies that a grant of up to $1 million from the Healthy Homes Fund to 

aid certain homeowners in New Haven and Woodbridge with homes 

suffering from subsidence damage and water infiltration, must come from 

money accrued in the Healthy Homes Fund during the 2019 calendar year 

(§ 4); 



O L R  P U B L I C  A C T  S U M M A R Y  

 Page 2 of 8  

5. establishes a program to encourage the development of technologies and 

techniques to prevent, identify, and repair crumbling concrete foundations 

(§ 13); 

6. requires the state’s chief data officer to develop and implement a plan for 

collecting data needed to conduct crumbling concrete foundation research 

(§ 14); and 

7. establishes a working group to (a) develop a model quality control plan for 

quarries and (b) study the workforce of contractors repairing and replacing 

crumbling concrete foundations (§ 15). 

Finally, the act makes minor, technical, and conforming changes.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2019, except the (1) provisions on the Healthy 

Homes Fund (§§ 3 & 4), Collapsing Foundation Supplemental Loan Program (§§ 

7 – 12), and the quarry working group (§ 15) are effective upon passage and (2) 

changes to the residential condition report (§ 5) are effective October 1, 2019, 

with the private right of action provisions (§ 6) effective January 1, 2020.  

 

§ 1 — CHANGES TO CFSIC ENABLING STATUTES 

 

The act removes the requirement that CFSIC develop a single, unified 

financial aid application in consultation with the Department of Housing, 

Connecticut Housing Finance Authority (CHFA), and lenders participating in the 

Collapsing Foundations Credit Enhancement Program. It also requires CFSIC, 

when it adopts new guidelines, to publish them at least 15 days prior to their 

adoption, instead of 30 days before as under prior law. Finally, it requires CFSIC 

to require individuals receiving aid to disclose all financial compensation received 

from a personal risk policy, instead of only from a homeowners policy. 

 

§ 2 — RESIDENTIAL BUILDING DEFINITION 

 

The act broadens the definition of “residential building,” as used in certain 

statutes, to mean a (1) single- or multi-family residential unit, including a 

condominium unit or unit in a common interest community, or (2) building 

containing one or more of these units. Under prior law, a residential building was 

a one- to four-family home, including a condominium or planned unit 

development.  

The changes apply to: 

1. CFSIC’s eligibility statutes, making more homeowners eligible for CFSIC 

grants;  

2. the Crumbling Foundations Assistance Fund statutes, making more 

homeowners eligible for Collapsing Foundations Credit Enhancement 

Program loans and help from the special homeowner advocate;  

3. disclosure requirements for concrete sellers; 

4. certain municipal bonding statutes related to abating deleterious conditions 

on property suffering from pyrrhotite damage; and 

5. certain income tax provisions that allow owners of residential buildings to 

subtract from their state adjusted gross income the amount of certain 
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crumbling concrete assistance they receive. 

The definition also applies to the newly created Collapsing Foundation 

Supplemental Loan Program (see §§ 7-12 below).  

 

§ 3 — $12 HEALTHY HOMES SURCHARGE 

 

The Healthy Homes surcharge is a $12 surcharge imposed on certain 

homeowners insurance policies. By law, 85% of the amount collected is 

transferred into the Crumbling Foundations Assistance Fund, which CFSIC uses 

to assist homeowners with crumbling foundations (CGS § 38a-331). The 

remaining amount is used by the Department of Housing for lead abatement, 

among other things (CGS § 8-446).  

The act assesses the surcharge on the first insured listed in the policy, instead 

of on the policy’s named insured (which in practice can be more than one 

individual). Under the act, the insurer, insured, and any mortgagee can reasonably 

determine how to implement the surcharge, which is due in full when a policy 

begins or renews.  

The act also assesses the surcharge only when a policy is issued or renewed, 

instead of each time a policy is delivered, issued, renewed, amended, or endorsed. 

Finally, the act imposes the surcharge on each insurance policy covering (1) 

owned homes with four or fewer units, excluding mobile homes; (2) individual 

condominium units; or (3) individual units in a common interest community that 

are used exclusively for residential purposes. Prior law imposed the surcharge on 

all personal risk policies covering (1) residential dwellings with four or fewer 

units and (2) condominiums.  

As under prior law, the surcharge applies on policies through December 31, 

2029. The act prohibits any portion of the surcharge from being reimbursed, even 

if a policy is cancelled.  

Finally, the act specifically requires surplus lines brokers procuring insurance 

from nonadmitted insurers to collect and remit the surcharge on applicable 

policies. Prior law placed this duty on the nonadmitted insurers themselves.  

 

§§ 5 & 6 — RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY CONDITION REPORT 

 

By law, residential property sellers must either use the “residential condition 

report” to make disclosures about a property’s condition to a prospective 

purchaser or credit the purchaser $500 at closing. The act adds to the report 

questions that require sellers to disclose and explain any knowledge they have 

about pyrrhotite in the foundation. It also: 

1. allows buyers to bring a civil suit to recover actual damages from any 

seller who knows of and fails to disclose significant defects in the property 

as required by the residential disclosure report; 

2. requires sellers to provide the report when the property being sold 

transfers pursuant to a court order or by deed in lieu of foreclosure; and 

3. in areas affected by crumbing concrete foundations, requires (a) 

municipalities transferring residential property and (b) sellers transferring 
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residential property that they acquired through foreclosure, to disclose 

certain information about a property’s foundation. 

(Prior law exempted transfers by a municipality and transfers of previously 

foreclosed properties from the disclosure requirements).  

 

Changes to Residential Condition Report (§ 5) 

 

Under existing law, a seller must disclose any knowledge of foundation 

problems, settling, testing, inspection, or repairs. The act expands the contents of 

the report by requiring the seller to additionally:  

1. disclose and explain any knowledge he or she has related to pyrrhotite in 

the property’s foundation and 

2. for foundation testing and inspections, disclose the testing or inspection 

method, area it was performed on, and the results, including a copy of any 

test or inspection report.  

 

Disclosures by Municipalities and Sellers of Foreclosed Property (§ 5) 

 

Under the act, municipalities the Capitol Region Council of Governments 

determines are affected, or potentially affected, by crumbling foundations must 

disclose to prospective purchasers any information they have about (1) the 

presence of pyrrhotite in such properties’ foundations, (2) damage and 

deterioration in the foundations, and (3) repairs or remediation made to the 

foundations.  

They must make the disclosures on a new residential foundation condition 

report form the act requires the consumer protection commissioner, within 

available appropriations, to prescribe. Sellers transferring residential properties 

(1) they acquired through foreclosure and (2) that are located in the affected 

municipalities must also make these disclosures. (PA 19-196 § 7 makes minor 

changes to this residential condition report).  

As is the case for residential property disclosure reports under existing law, 

the act requires affected municipalities (and sellers of foreclosed property in these 

municipalities) to either provide the residential foundation condition report or 

credit the purchaser $500 at closing. 

 

Required Disclosure of Significant Defects and Private Right of Action (§ 6) 

 

Under the act, failing to provide either of the required reports does not excuse 

a seller (including a municipality or seller of foreclosed property in an affected 

area) from disclosing to a prospective purchaser any significant defects in a 

residential property. The act specifies that crediting a buyer does not excuse a 

seller from disclosing defects in the property covered by the report if he or she has 

actual knowledge of the defect and it significantly impairs the (1) property’s value 

or useful life span or (2) health and safety of its future occupants. If the seller fails 

to make these disclosures, the act allows a purchaser to bring a civil action in the 

judicial district in which the property is located to recover actual damages from 
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the seller; doing so does not limit any other remedies the purchaser may have. 

 

§§ 7-12 — COLLAPSING FOUNDATION SUPPLEMENTAL LOAN 

PROGRAM 

 

The act requires CHFA to administer a collapsing foundation supplemental 

loan program to guarantee loans made by banks and credit unions in Connecticut 

to owners and occupants of residential buildings (“borrowers”) with pyrrhotite-

damaged concrete foundations (the program uses the same definition of a 

“residential building” as modified by § 2 above). To be eligible, a borrower must 

have a participation agreement from CFSIC stating that it will pay a portion of the 

foundation’s repair or replacement cost.  

Banks and credit unions with a physical location in Connecticut may 

participate in the program after providing advanced written notice to CHFA and 

the Department of Banking (DoB), on a form and manner they prescribe, that 

includes the financial institution’s contact information.  

The act allows participating institutions to issue loans of up to $75,000, 

capped at an aggregate maximum of $20 million for all loans. The loans have a 

maximum closing cost of $800 and an interest rate equal to or less than that of a 

loan with similar terms and schedule offered by the Federal Home Loan Bank of 

Boston for Amortizing Advances through the New England Fund. The program 

ends once CHFA processes and the comptroller pays $2 million in claim 

guarantees. CHFA must then (1) stop all claims processing and (2) notify the 

comptroller and each eligible financial institution. The act (1) allows CHFA, 

DoB, and the comptroller to enter into a memorandum of understanding to 

implement the act and (2) makes a conforming change. 

 

Program Administration  

 

The act allows CHFA, in consultation with banking industry representatives, 

to develop standard promissory note and mortgage deed forms for financial 

institutions to use when issuing program loans. Additionally, by September 1, 

2019, CHFA, in consultation with banking industry representatives, must develop 

(1) reasonable standards that participating institutions can rely on to demonstrate 

good faith collection efforts (see below) and (2) a readily accessible 

communication portal for participating institutions to verify in real time the total 

dollar amount of program loans CHFA issued and guarantee claims submitted to 

the comptroller. The forms and standards must, to the extent feasible, closely 

align with existing forms, policies, and procedures and must not require post-

delinquency collection efforts beyond 90 days. 

 

Loan Issuance  

 

A participating institution may make loans to eligible borrowers as long as 

they prove that CFSIC has agreed to pay for a portion of their foundation’s repair 

or replacement cost. Loans, which can be conditioned on the availability of 
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program funds and guarantees, must: 

1. be secured by a residential mortgage deed, 

2. have terms up to 20 years and be made in accordance with a financial 

institution’s underwriting policies and standards, 

3. be less than $75,000, and  

4. have an interest rate that is equal to or lower than the applicable Federal 

Home Loan Bank of Boston for Amortizing Advances through the New 

England Fund program rates. 

The “applicable rate” is the New England Fund rate that (1) is published on 

the Federal Home Loan Bank of Boston’s website on the date the interest rate is 

locked in by the borrower and financial institution and (2) has an advance term 

and amortization schedule that most closely corresponds to the term and 

amortization schedule of the loan the institution is issuing. 

 

Closing Costs  

 

Under the act, a financial institution may recover up to $800 from the 

borrower for expenses paid to third parties for processing the application, closing 

the loan, and recording fees, and for other services, including obtaining a credit 

report, flood certification, title search, or appraisal. A borrower may finance the 

closing costs as part of the loan, subject to the $75,000 cap, or pay them 

separately. 

 

Notification to CHFA  

 

Within one business day of making a loan under the program, a financial 

institution must notify CHFA in writing of the loan amount and any other 

information about the borrower or loan CHFA requests. 

 

Additional Loans 

 

The act specifies that is does not prohibit a participating financial institution 

from offering loans to eligible borrowers outside of the program. 

 

Loan Proceeds and Eligible Repair Expenses 

  

The act requires loan proceeds to be used only for “eligible repair expenses,” 

which are (1) necessary to complete a foundation repair or replacement or (2) 

otherwise necessary to restore the property’s functionality and appearance, to the 

extent they were compromised by the foundation’s deterioration or the demolition 

and construction process. This includes repairing or replacing wall framing, 

drywall, paint and other wall finishes, porches, decks, gutters, landscaping, 

outbuildings, sheds, and swimming pools. Unless explicitly allowed as a repair 

expense, the act excludes costs associated with significant property upgrades. A 

participating institution may decline a loan application that includes a request to 

fund ineligible repair expenses, but failing to decline a loan for this reason does 
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not impact the institution’s ability to have the loan principal guaranteed through 

the program. 

 

Guarantee Claim Payments  

 

Under the act, a participating program that made a good faith effort to collect 

a loan’s outstanding principal and demonstrates to CHFA that it did so in 

accordance with its loan servicing and collection policies, may submit a claim to 

recover the outstanding principal balance. CHFA must process the claim and 

submit it to the comptroller for payment. Any amount the comptroller needs to 

pay a claim is deemed appropriated from the General Fund. Once the comptroller 

pays a claim, and as a condition of the payment, the loan is assigned to the state. 

CHFA, as the state’s agent, may continue loan collection efforts. Any outstanding 

loan funds collected by CHFA must be deposited back into the General Fund. 

The act allows CHFA to terminate any loan guarantee if the financial 

institution misrepresents any applicable information or fails to comply with the 

act’s requirements. 

 

Financial Institution Program Withdrawal  

 

A financial institution may suspend its participation in or withdraw from the 

program entirely five business days after notifying CHFA and DoB of its intent to 

do so and specifying the suspension or withdrawal date. A financial institution 

that stops participating in the program may still submit a guarantee claim, 

provided the program is still operational (i.e., has not exceeded its statutory 

maximum).  

 

Program Description and List of Participating Institutions  

 

By September 1, 2019, CHFA and DoB must each publish on their respective 

websites a summary of the program and list of participating banks and credit 

unions. The lists must be updated periodically and include each financial 

institution’s contact information. Additionally, DoB must provide unspecified 

information about the program to licensed mortgage servicers.  

 

Record Retention  

 

Under the act, CHFA must maintain program administration records, 

including loans issued and repayments. 

 

§ 13 — CONCRETE FOUNDATION REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT 

TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM 

 

The act establishes a program to encourage the development of technologies 

and techniques to prevent, identify, and repair crumbling concrete foundations. 

Connecticut Innovations, Inc. (CI) must (1) administer the program within 
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existing resources and (2) in conjunction with a volunteer panel of experts, 

develop program standards. The act allows CI to administer the program in 

coordination with agencies from other states.  

 

§ 14 — CRUMBLING CONCRETE DATA COLLECTION 

 

The act requires the state’s chief data officer, in consultation with the 

Department of Housing, CFSIC, the state geologist, and the expert panel 

convened under § 13 above, to develop and implement a data collection plan 

necessary to conduct crumbling concrete foundation research. The act specifies 

that any data collected is confidential and exempt from the state’s Freedom of 

Information Act, but allows the chief data officer to make it available for research 

purposes under data sharing agreements that maintain the data’s confidentiality as 

it pertains to identifiable data.  

 

§ 15 — QUARRY QUALITY CONTROL WORKING GROUP 

 

The act establishes an eight-member working group to develop a model 

quality control plan for quarries and to study the workforce of contractors 

engaged in repairing and replacing crumbling concrete foundations. The working 

group must submit its plan to the General Law Committee on or before February 

1, 2020, at which point the group terminates. 
The working group consists of the following members: 
1. two appointed by the House speaker, one with expertise in residential 

home building and one with expertise in the construction industry; 
2. two appointed by the Senate president pro tempore, one of whom must be 

a Capitol Region Council of Governments member; 
3. one each appointed by the House majority and minority leaders; and 
4. one each appointed by the Senate majority and minority leaders. 
The act specifies that working group appointees may be legislators. It requires 

appointments to be made by August 7, 2019, and any vacancies to be filled by the 

appointing authority. 
The working group's chairpersons must be selected by the House speaker and 

the Senate president pro tempore and schedule the first meeting by September 6, 

2019. 
The act requires the General Law Committee's administrative staff to also 

serve as the working group's administrative staff. 
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