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Issue  

Describe federal and state assistance for Connecticut renters impacted by COVID-19. Additionally, 

identify resources that provide COVID-19-related information relevant to renters.  

 

Summary 

The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, among other things, 

establishes an eviction moratorium for renters residing in specified covered dwellings. Prior to the 

CARES Act, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac offered forbearances for their multifamily property owners 

who suspend evictions of tenants unable to pay rent due to the impacts of COVID-19. 

 

At the state level, Governor Lamont's Executive Order 7X provides several protections to 

Connecticut renters, including rent grace periods and the ability to apply a portion of security 

deposits towards rent under certain circumstances. Additionally, the Connecticut Department of 

Housing (DOH) is providing immediate rent recalculation due to a change in income for renters 

participating in certain state and federal rental assistance programs.  

 

Federal CARES Act Eviction Moratorium  

The federal CARES Act prevents landlords of "covered dwellings" from initiating eviction proceedings 

or charging fees and penalties for nonpayment of rent for a 120-day period beginning March 27, 

2020 (P.L. 116-136, §4024(b)). Under the CARES Act, “covered dwellings” are tenant-occupied 

dwellings in properties that (1) are financed by federally-backed mortgage or multifamily loans or 

(2) participate in specified federal assistance programs (P.L. 116-136, §4024(a)). 
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Additionally, the act requires landlords of covered dwellings to provide tenants with at least 30-

days’ notice before requiring that they vacate the property (P.L. 116-136, §4024(c)). The act 

prohibits landlords from issuing tenants a notice to vacate until the above mentioned 120-day 

period is over (i.e., landlords cannot force tenants to vacate a covered dwelling until August 23, 

2020). (See the April 7, 2020, Congressional Research Service report on this topic for more 

information.)  

 

Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac Multifamily Forbearances 

Prior to enaction of the CARES Act, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac announced three-month 

forbearances for their multifamily property owners under the condition that these property owners 

agree to suspend all evictions of tenants unable to pay rent due to the impacts of COVID-19 during 

the forbearance period. Both Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac have since updated their COVID-19 

forbearance programs to further align with the CARES Act.  

 

Governor Lamont’s Executive Order 7X 

On April 10, 2020, Governor Lamont issued Executive Order 7X, which provides additional 

protections for residential renters impacted by COVID-19 (EO 7X, §1, Apr. 10, 2020).  

 

Eviction Moratorium  

EO 7X prohibits landlords or their representatives from serving a notice to quit or taking other 

eviction actions before July 1, 2020, except for serious nuisance. (On March 19, prior to the 

issuance of EO 7X, Connecticut's courts announced a stay of all issued executions of evictions and 

ejectments through May 1, 2020. This stay has since been extended through June 1, 2020.)  

 

Rent Grace Periods for April and May  

EO 7X establishes a 60-day grace period for April rent for tenants, including mobile home residents, 

by prohibiting landlords from taking eviction action; imposing late fees, interest, or penalties; 

reporting nonpayment to a credit bureau; or retaliating against tenants, provided the rent is paid 

within 60 days after its due date.  

 

Additionally, EO 7X establishes a 60-day grace period for May rent if a tenant, by the 9th day after 

the rent is due, notifies the landlord in writing, including by email, that the tenant has become fully 

or partially unemployed or experienced significant loss of revenue or increase in expenses due to 

the COVID-19 pandemic, provided the rent is paid within 60 days after its due date.  
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Security Deposits 

EO 7X requires landlords, upon request by certain tenants, such as those experiencing financial 

hardship due to the pandemic, to (1) withdraw from escrow the security deposit amount over one 

month’s rent and (2) apply it toward the rent due in April, May, or June 2020. The order prohibits 

landlords from demanding that the security deposit be restored before the later of the end of the 

public health emergency or the rental agreement renewal or extension.  

 

See the April 15, 2020, Shipman & Goodwin COVID-19 publication for further discussion of the 

interplay between the CARES Act and Governor Lamont's Executive Order 7X (including potential 

preemption issues).   

 

Department of Housing and Public Housing Authorities  

According to DOH Director of Government Relations and Communications, Aaron Turner, renters 

participating in the state's Rental Assistance Program (RAP) or receiving DOH-administered 

vouchers under the federal Housing Choice Voucher (HCV; Section 8) program are eligible for an 

immediate recalculation of their rent payments based on an income reduction. Typically, DOH 

requires a 30-day waiting period for a rent recalculation. Renters in public housing or receiving HCV 

vouchers through a local housing authority may also be eligible for a rent recalculation (see the 

Connecticut Fair Housing Center's online tool). 

 

COVID-19 Resources for Renters  

 Connecticut Department of Housing. "COVID-19: Homeowners and Renters." (summary of 

federal and state actions to help protect homeowners and renters impacted by the COVID-

19 outbreak)  

 Connecticut Fair Housing Center. "COVID-19 FAQs for Renters: Overview." (April 10, 2020)  

(frequently asked questions about COVID-19 for renters) 

 National Housing Law Project (NHLP). "Protecting Renter and Homeowner Rights During our 

National Health Crisis." (April 29,2020) (updated resources for attorneys, advocates, 

policymakers, and others for assistance during the COVID-19 national public health crisis) 

 National Low-Income Housing Coalition. "Congressional Leaders Agree to Coronavirus 

Response Package with Funding for Homelessness and Housing." (March 25, 2020) 

(provides analysis of the housing-related provisions in the CARES Act)  

 O'Connell, Ann. "List of Resources and Assistance for Renters and Landlords Affected by 

COVID-19." NOLO. (April 3, 2020) (provides a list of federal, state, and private or nonprofit 

COVID-19 resources for renters and landlords)  

https://www.shipmangoodwin.com/covid-19-governor-lamont-issues-additional-protections-for-residential-renters
https://ctfairhousing.org/rent/
https://portal.ct.gov/Coronavirus/Information-For/Homeowners-and-Renters
https://www.ctfairhousing.org/covid-19-faqs-for-renters/
https://www.nhlp.org/campaign/protecting-renter-and-homeowner-rights-during-our-national-health-crisis-2/
https://www.nhlp.org/campaign/protecting-renter-and-homeowner-rights-during-our-national-health-crisis-2/
https://nlihc.org/resource/congressional-leaders-agree-coronavirus-response-package-funding-homelessness-and-housing
https://nlihc.org/resource/congressional-leaders-agree-coronavirus-response-package-funding-homelessness-and-housing
https://blog.nolo.com/blog/2020/04/03/list-of-resources-and-assistance-for-renters-and-landlords-affected-by-covid-19/
https://blog.nolo.com/blog/2020/04/03/list-of-resources-and-assistance-for-renters-and-landlords-affected-by-covid-19/
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 Shipman & Goodwin. "COVID-19: Real Estate Leasing Resource Page for Connecticut & New 

York." (analysis of key issues affecting both landlords and tenants during the COVID-19 

crisis)  
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