

Lead Sinker Laws in Select States

By: Kristen Miller, Senior Legislative Attorney July 14, 2020 | 2020-R-0162

Issue

Describe laws restricting the sale or use of lead fishing equipment in New York and the New England states.

Summary

The primary purpose of lead fishing equipment restrictions is to protect birds and other animals from lead poisoning should they ingest the products.

Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont restrict the use or sale of certain lead fishing equipment for fresh water fishing. Connecticut and Rhode Island do not have such restrictions.

The states' restrictions vary by the (1) types of restrictions involved (i.e., selling, offering for sale, or using); (2) equipment type, size, and weight; and (3) applicable penalties.

New York prohibits selling or offering for sale at retail lead sinkers of one-half ounce or less. Massachusetts prohibits using lead sinkers, jigs (i.e., weighted fish hooks), or weights of less than one ounce.

Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont restrict the equipment's sale, offer for sale, and use. Maine law prohibits selling, offering for sale, or using lead sinkers or bare (i.e., unpainted) lead jigs that (1) weigh one ounce or less or (2) measure two and one-half inches or less in length. New Hampshire's restrictions apply to lead sinkers and jigs of one ounce or less and regardless of whether the

equipment is painted, coated, or covered by another substance or by attached skirts. Vermont law prohibits selling, offering for sale, or using sinkers of one-half ounce or less.

Each state imposes at least a fine for violating its restrictions, which together generally range from \$0 to \$500. Imprisonment is a possible penalty in Maine for individuals who commit three violations within three years (up to six months), Massachusetts (up to 30 days), and New York (up to 15 days). Vermont also assesses points against an individual's right to hunt, fish, or trap for violations.

The table below provides additional detail about the states' restrictions, particularly in terms of scope and penalty.

State	Statute or Regulation	Scope of Restriction	Penalty
Maine	Me. Stat. tit. 12, § 12663-	Selling or offering for sale	Fine, \$100 to \$500
	<u>B</u>	lead sinkers or bare lead	
		jigs of one ounce or less	Three or more violations
	<u>Me. Stat. tit. 17-A, §§</u>	or that measure two and	within five years is a class
	<u>1604</u> and <u>1704</u>	one-half inches or less in	E crime, punishable by up
		length	to six months in jail and a
			fine of up to \$1,000
Maine	<u>Me. Stat. tit. 12, § 12664</u>	Using a lead sinker or	Fine, \$100 to \$500
		bare lead jig of one ounce	
	<u>Me. Stat. tit. 17-A, §§</u>	or less or that measures	Three or more violations
	<u>1604</u> and <u>1704</u>	two and one-half inches	within five years is a class
		or less in length	E crime, punishable by up
			to six months in jail and a
			fine of up to \$1,000
	321 Mass. Code Regs. §	Using a lead sinker, jig, or	Civil = fine, \$50
	<u>4.01</u>	weight of less than one	
		ounce in inland waters of	Criminal = fine, \$50 to
	Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 21A,	the state	\$100, up to 30 days in jail,
Massachusetts	<u>§ 10H</u>		or both
	Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 131,		Officer has the option of
	<u>§ 90</u>		issuing a civil citation or a
			criminal summons

Table: Lead Fishing Equipment Restrictions in New York and New England

	Table (continued)				
State	Statute or Regulation	Scope of Restriction	Penalty		
New Hampshire	<u>N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §</u>	Using a lead sinker or jig,	Fine, up to \$250		
	<u>211:13-b</u>	of one ounce or less, to			
		take fish in any fresh			
		water in the state			
	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §	Selling or offering for sale	Fine, up to \$250		
	<u>339:77</u>	at retail lead sinkers or			
		jigs of one ounce or less	Each day of sale or		
			offering for sale is a		
			separate violation		
	N.Y. Envtl. Conserv. Law	Selling or offering for sale	Up to 15 days in jail, up to		
	<u>§§ 11-0308, 71-0919, 71-</u>	at retail lead sinkers of	a \$250 fine, or both		
	<u>0923,</u> and <u>71-0925</u>	one-half ounce or less			
			\$200 civil fine		
New York					
			Each day of sale or		
			offering for sale is a		
			separate violation		
Vermont	Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, §	Using a lead sinker of	Fine, \$100		
	4606	one-half ounce or less to			
		take fish in any state	5 points (a person's right		
		waters	to hunt, fish, and trap is		
			suspended once he or		
			she accrues 10 points)		
	Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, §	Selling or offering for sale	Fine, \$500		
	4615	lead sinkers of one-half			
		ounce or less	5 points (a person's right		
			to hunt, fish, and trap is		
			suspended once he or		
			she accrues 10 points)		
			- 1 /		

Table (continued)

KLM:kc