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Issue  

Briefly explain Connecticut’s alcoholic beverages tax and how its rates compare to those of 

other states. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut’s alcoholic beverages tax applies to sales of beer, wine, and liquor in the state.  

The tax is based on volume and ranges from $0.12 per wine gallon of beer (128 ounces) 

sold by beer manufacturer permittees for off-premises consumption to $5.94 per wine 

gallon of liquor (i.e., distilled spirits). The tax is levied on distributors (i.e., wholesaler or 

manufacturer permittees), who must report to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) 

each month on the total number of gallons of each alcoholic beverage sold during the 

month, their opening and closing inventories, and the amount of tax due.  Sales of alcoholic 

beverages are also subject to the state’s 6.35% sales and use tax. 

 

A comparison of Connecticut’s alcohol tax rates with those of other states and the District of 

Columbia shows that Connecticut’s general tax rate on beer and wine is slightly greater than 

the median rate across all jurisdictions. However, its tax on liquor is $2.17 greater than the 

median rate of $3.77 per gallon.  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
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Alcoholic Beverages Tax 

Rate and Basis 

Connecticut’s alcoholic beverages tax applies to distributors selling beer, wine, and liquor in 

the state.  The tax is based on volume: per barrel, fraction of a barrel, or wine gallon for 

beer; per wine gallon for wine; and either per wine gallon or per proof gallon for liquor and 

liquor coolers.  The law exempts from the tax the first 15 barrels of beer annually produced 

and sold for on-premises consumption in an establishment covered by a manufacturer’s 

permit (CGS § 12-435, as amended by PA 19-24, § 1). 

 

Table 1 shows the tax rate and basis by type of alcoholic beverage. 

 

Table 1: Connecticut Alcoholic Beverage Tax Rates 

Alcoholic Beverage Basis and Rate 

Beer with no more than 7% alcohol $7.20 per barrel (31 gallons) 
$0.24 per wine gallon or fraction 
under ¼ barrel 

Beer sold for off-premises consumption on premises covered by a 
manufacturer’s permit  

$3.60 per barrel (31 gallons) 
$0.12 per wine gallon or fraction 
under ¼ barrel 

Cider with no more than 7% alcohol $7.92 per barrel (31 gallons) 
$0.26 per wine gallon or fraction 
under ¼ barrel 

Still wines (up to 21% alcohol by volume) $0.79 per wine gallon 

Still wines produced by small wineries producing up to 55,000 wine 
gallons annually (certificate required) 

$0.20 per wine gallon 

Sparkling and fortified wines $1.98 per wine gallon 

Alcohol (more than 100 proof) $5.94 per proof gallon 

Liquor $5.94 per wine gallon 

Liquor coolers (up to 7% alcohol by volume) $2.71 per wine gallon 
Source: CGS § 12-435, as amended by PA 19-117, § 352 

 

Revenue 

As Table 2 shows, the state collected approximately $64.1 

million in alcoholic beverage tax revenue for FY 19, up from 

approximately $63.2 million in both FY 18 and FY 17.  In FY 19, 

there were 925 distributors paying the tax.  

 

 

Table 2: Alcoholic Beverages Tax 
Revenue, FYs 17-19 

FY Amount 

19 $64,145,818 

18 63,211,086 

17 63,155,221 
Source: DRS, FY 19 Annual Report 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_220.htm#sec_12-435
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=24
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_220.htm#sec_12-435
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DRS/Research/annualreport/DRS-FY19-Annual-Report.pdf
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Comparison with Other States 

Table 3 shows per gallon taxes on beer, wine, and liquor in each state and the District of 

Columbia.  It also shows the median tax rate for each type of alcoholic beverage.  This data 

was compiled by the Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) and last updated in January 

2020.  The rates shown represent the general state excise tax rate for each category.  In 

some cases, different tax rates apply to specific types of beverages (e.g., draft beer or 

sparkling wine) or specific types of retail sales (e.g., on-premises or airline sales).  In 

addition, local alcohol taxes and state sales taxes apply in specific jurisdictions.  The FTA 

website provides additional detail on these other taxes and exceptions to the rates shown 

below. 

 

The comparison shows that Connecticut’s tax on beer ($0.24 per gallon) is slightly greater 

than the median rate of $0.20 per gallon.  Its tax on wine ($0.79 per gallon) is also slightly 

greater than the median rate of $0.72 per gallon.  However, its tax on liquor ($5.94 per 

gallon) is $2.17 greater than the median rate of $3.77 per gallon.  

 

Table 3: General State Tax Rates on Beer, Wine, and Liquor 

STATE 
PER-GALLON EXCISE TAX ($ per gallon) 

Beer  Wine Liquor 

Alabama $0.53 $1.70  N/A1 

Alaska 1.07 2.50 $12.80  

Arizona 0.16 0.84 3.00 

Arkansas 0.23 0.75 2.50 

California 0.20 0.20 3.30 

Colorado 0.08 0.28 2.28 

Connecticut 0.24 0.79 5.94 

Delaware 0.26 1.63 4.50 

Florida 0.48 2.25 6.50 

Georgia 0.32 1.51 3.79 

Hawaii 0.93 1.38 5.98 

Idaho 0.15 0.45 N/A1 

Illinois 0.231 1.39 8.55 

Indiana 0.115 0.47 2.68 

Iowa 0.19 1.75 N/A1 

Kansas 0.18 0.30 2.50 

Kentucky 0.08 0.50 1.92 

Louisiana 0.40 0.76 3.03 

Maine 0.35 0.60 N/A1 

Maryland 0.09 0.40 1.50 

Massachusetts 0.11 0.55 4.05 

Michigan 0.20 0.51 N/A1 

https://taxadmin.memberclicks.net/tax-rates
https://taxadmin.memberclicks.net/tax-rates
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STATE 
PER-GALLON EXCISE TAX ($ per gallon) 

Beer  Wine Liquor 

Minnesota 0.148 0.30 5.03 

Mississippi 0.4268 0.35 N/A1 

Missouri 0.06 0.42 2.00 

Montana 0.14 1.06 N/A1 

Nebraska 0.31 0.95 3.75 

Nevada 0.16 0.70 3.60 

New Hampshire 0.30 0.30 N/A1 

New Jersey 0.12 0.875 5.50 

New Mexico 0.41 1.70 6.06 

New York 0.14 0.30 6.44 

North Carolina 0.6171 1.00 N/A1 

North Dakota 0.16 0.50 2.50 

Ohio 0.18 0.30 N/A1 

Oklahoma 0.40 0.72 5.56 

Oregon 0.08 0.67 N/A1 

Pennsylvania 0.08 N/A1 N/A1 

Rhode Island  0.11 1.40 5.40 

South Carolina 0.77 0.90 2.72 

South Dakota 0.27 0.93 3.93 

Tennessee 1.29 1.21 4.40 

Texas 0.194 0.204 2.40 

Utah 0.4226 N/A1 N/A1 

Vermont 0.265 0.55 N/A1 

Virginia 0.2565 1.51 N/A1 

Washington  0.26 0.87 14.27 

West Virginia 0.18 1.00 N/A1 

Wisconsin 0.06 0.25 3.25 

Wyoming 0.02 N/A1 N/A1 

Dist. of Columbia 0.09 0.30 1.50 

Median $0.20 0.73 $3.77  
Source: FTA State Tax Rates on Beer, State Tax Rates on Wine, and State Tax Rates on Distilled Spirits (accessed July 28, 2020) 

1 State controls all sales directly. Revenue is generated from other taxes, fees, and net profits. 

 

 

RP:kc 

https://taxadmin.memberclicks.net/assets/docs/Research/Rates/beer.pdf
https://taxadmin.memberclicks.net/assets/docs/Research/Rates/wine.pdf
https://taxadmin.memberclicks.net/assets/docs/Research/Rates/liquor.pdf

