

# Issue Brief

Hemp Production in Connecticut

This Issue Brief has been updated by <u>Issue Brief 2021-R-0161</u> (October 25, 2021) Enabling Federal Law

The 2014 Agricultural Act (P.L. 113-79) (i.e., the 2014 farm bill) allows a state agricultural agency or higher education institution to grow or cultivate industrial hemp under a pilot program or research program if allowed by state law (§ 7606). Any site used for growing or cultivating hemp must be certified by, and registered with, the state's agricultural department.

The 2018 Agriculture Improvement Act (P.L. 115-334) (i.e., the 2018 farm bill) allows a state to regulate hemp production, but only under an enforcement plan the state agricultural department submits to the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) for its approval (§ 10113).



## What is Hemp?

Under state and federal law, "hemp" is the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of it, including seeds and derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, and salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. (THC is the chief intoxicant in marijuana.) By law, hemp and certain compounds derived from it (e.g., cannabidiol) are not controlled substances.

"Hemp products" include producer hemp products and manufacturer hemp products. "Producer hemp products" are raw or fiber-based hemp products or animal hemp food products. "Manufacturer hemp products" are commodities made from hemp that are intended for human consumption, including by ingestion, inhalation, or absorption. Hemp products cannot have a THC concentration above 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis or per volume or weight.

### PA 19-3: Hemp Production Pilot Program

<u>Public Act 19-3</u> required the state Department of Agriculture (DoAg) commissioner to establish and operate a hemp production pilot program in Connecticut in accordance with federal law.

The act also required the commissioner to prepare a hemp production state plan in accordance with federal law for approval by the USDA. The act established licensing requirements, qualifications, and fees for hemp growers, processors, and manufacturers. DoAg regulates growers and processors, while the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) regulates manufacturers.

#### PA 20-2 SSS: Revisions to the Hemp Program

<u>Public Act 20-2</u>, September Special Session (SSS), revises the state's hemp program to comply with USDA hemp production regulations that were issued in October 2019. The act also combines the grower and processor licenses into one "producer" license, makes clarifying changes to definitions, and extends the licensing period from two to three years, among other revisions.

#### **Hemp Program Status**

According to DoAg, as of October 2020, Connecticut has 140 licensed hemp growers and 14 licensed hemp processors, of which 137 and 13, respectively, are active. These licenses, which generated \$50,080 in General Fund revenue, represent 381 licensed plots (i.e., grow sites), including approximately 502 acres and 1.67 million square feet of greenhouse space. According to DCP, there are 66 licensed hemp manufacturers in Connecticut, which generated \$19,800 in General Fund revenue.

The below table shows licensed plots and active licensed growers, processors, and manufacturers by county.

County	Plots	Growers	Processors	Manufacturers
Fairfield	44	13	2	10
Hartford	81	37	5	14
Litchfield	46	13	2	5
Middlesex	22	11	0	3
New Haven	43	17	1	16
New London	58	17	2	7
Tolland	60	15	1	4
Windham	27	14	0	6
Out-of-state	0	0	0	1
Total	381	137	13	66

Source: DoAg and DCP



Connecticut Hemp Research Pilot Program – DoAg website

DoAg and DCP <u>2019 Hemp Report</u> to the General Assembly

OLR Report <u>2019-R-0044</u> – Hemp Laws in Select States

OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH



Analyst: Janet Kaminski Leduc Connecticut General Assembly 860-240-8400 | <u>www.cga.ct.gov/olr</u>