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Issue

Describe whether Connecticut or any other state requires private schools to test their buildings for
radon.

Summary

Connecticut law does not require private school buildings to be tested for radon. It does, however,
require public schools that have been built, extended, or renovated on or after January 1, 2003, to
be tested by January 1, 2008, and every five years subsequently (CGS § 10-220(d), as amended by
PA 19-58). There is no testing requirement for public schools built, extended, or renovated before
that date.

We found at least four states that require private schools to test for radon (Colorado, Florida, Rhode
Island, and Virginia). Some of these states apply this requirement only to private schools that meet
certain criteria, and others apply it to all private schools statewide.

Other States’ Laws and Regulations

Colorado

In state regulation, Colorado’s Department of Public Health and Environment requires private
schools to complete radon testing using procedures described by the American Association of
Radon Scientists and Technologists. Schools must keep the test results on the premises and make
them available for review. The regulation does not specify how often the testing must occur
(presumably, it is at least once).

Additionally, schools built after April 14, 2015, must complete radon tests within 19 months after
the date of occupancy. Schools remodeled after that date must notify the department so that it may
determine whether any additional radon testing is needed (Colo. Code Regs. § 1010-6:6.8).
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State law gives the department the authority to establish these regulations (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 25-
1.5-101(4)(h)).

Florida

State law requires private school buildings or school sites housing students in kindergarten through
grade 12 to have their level of indoor radon tested, but only if the building is located in a county
designated as “intermediate” or “elevated radon potential” on the Department of Business and
Professional Regulation’s Florida Radon Protection Map. The test must follow measurement
procedures established by the state’s Department of Public Health (Fla. Stat. § 404.056(4)).

The required testing timeline is as follows:

e |nitial measurements: within one year after the building is opened for occupancy, or within
one year after license approval for the entity residing in an existing building, at least 20% of
habitable first floor spaces within the building must be tested.

o Follow-up measurements: after the building has been occupied for five years, testing must
be completed in 5% of the habitable first floor spaces within the building; results must be
reported to the department by the first day of the sixth year of occupancy.

e Further testing: not needed after measurements have been made twice, unless significant
structural changes occur.

Rhode Island

State law authorizes the Department of Health to establish regulations requiring radon testing by
appropriate school officials of each area within private schools occupied by children in kindergarten
through grade 12 (R.l. Gen. Laws § 23-61-4(8)(vi)). Agency regulations require all schools to be
tested for radon (216-RICR-20-10-4.31). Private schools must notify families of all attending
students of a radon test result greater than or equal to 4 pCi/L (0.02 WL) within 30 days of
receiving the result. The notice must use language supplied by the Department of Health (216-
RICR-50-15-2.6).

Virginia
State law requires every school building in the state to be tested for radon by July 1, 1994, using

United States Environmental Protection Agency procedures. This appears to be a one-time testing
requirement.

School buildings opened after this date must also be tested. Each school must maintain files of its
test results and make them available for review. The superintendent must report the results to the
state’s Department of Public Health (Va. Code Ann. § 22.1-138).
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