

Connecticut Insurance Producer Fees

By: Alex Reger, Associate Analyst December 21, 2020 | 2020-R-0308

Issue

Describe insurance producer fees allowed under state law.

Summary

State law allows insurance producers to charge service fees in accordance with insurance department regulations (<u>CGS § 38a-707</u> and <u>Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 38a-707-1 to 38a-707-9</u>).

Before charging consumers, producers must get signed confirmation of the premium and any associated fees. The permitted service fee amount varies by insurance type (known as a "line"), as shown in Table 1 below. Unless specifically noted, fees may be charged only for initial policies, unless a renewal requires new underwriting (<u>Conn. Agencies Regs § 38a-707-8</u>).

Insurance Line	Fee	Regulation
Automobile Assigned Risk	\$35	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-2
All Other Automobile	\$35	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-2
Non-standard Owners, Landlords,	Up to 5% of the premium,	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-3
and Tenants; and Non-standard	capped at \$150	
Manufacturers and Contractors		
Workers' Compensation Assigned	1% of the premium, with a	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-4
Risk	minimum fee of \$10, but	
	capped at \$250	

Table 1: Connecticut Insurance Producer Fees

Table 1 (continued)

Insurance Line	Fee	Regulation
Non-standard Fire and Allied	1% of the premium	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-5
Lines		
"Fair Plan" Fire (i.e., a specific	None	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-5
plan for high risk insureds)		
Substandard Errors and	\$10 or 5% of the	Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-6
Omissions	premiums, up to \$250	
Surplus Lines	A producer and surplus	Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 38a-707-7 &
	lines broker involved in the	<u>38a-707-8(b)</u>
	same transaction may	
	charge (1) up to \$250	
	combined or (2) up to 5% of	
	the premium, capped at	
	\$500 combined. Applies to	
	initial and renewal	
	business.	

Producers or lines not listed in the table may submit potential fees to the insurance department for individual approval (<u>Conn. Agencies Regs. § 38a-707-8</u>).

Producers who are federally registered investment advisors are generally exempt from these regulations (<u>CGS § 38a-707(d)</u>).

State regulation also allow producers to charge for reimbursement of (1) inspection report fees, (2) motor vehicle department reports, (3) policy reports, (4) credit card service fees, (5) regulatory fees from other jurisdictions, (6) overnight mail costs, or (7) necessary telephone calls (<u>Conn. Agencies</u> <u>Regs. § 38a-707-1</u>).

AR:kc