

Issue Brief



Connecticut's Paid Family and Medical Leave

Connecticut's Paid Family and Medical Leave Program

In 2019, Connecticut created the Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) program to provide partial wage replacement benefits to employees taking leave for reasons allowed under the state's Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) or family violence leave law (PA 19-25, as amended by PA 19-117). Starting in 2022, the program will provide them with up to 12 weeks of PFML benefits over a 12-month period, plus two additional weeks of benefits for a serious health condition that results in incapacitation during pregnancy. The program will be administered by the <u>CT Paid Leave Authority</u>.

Who is Covered?

All private-sector employees (except those in private elementary or secondary schools) in the state will be covered by the program. Public-sector employees will be covered if they are (1) state employees who are not in a collective bargaining unit (i.e., nonunion); (2) state, municipal, or local or regional board of education (BOE) employees who have collectively bargained to join the program; or (3) nonunion employees of a municipality or BOE that has collectively bargained to have its union employees join the program. Sole proprietors and the self-employed can choose to join the program, but they must enroll for at least three years.

How is it Funded?

All employees covered by the program must contribute to it through a payroll deduction starting on January 1, 2021. The annual contribution rate will be set by the authority but it is capped at 0.5% of the employee's total wages, up to the maximum amount that is subject to Social Security taxes (\$142,800 for <u>2021</u>).

Implementation Dates

November 2020

Employers begin registering with the Paid Leave Authority so they can withhold and submit employee contributions

January 1, 2021

Employers begin withholding employee contributions for the PFML program

March 31, 2021

Deadline for employers to begin quarterly submissions of employee contributions to the program

January 1, 2022

Eligible employees begin collecting PFML benefits when taking eligible leave

Header Image: RawPixel at freepik.com

Who is Eligible for Benefits?

Covered employees are eligible for benefits if they have earned at least \$2,325 in the highest quarter of the first four of the five most recently completed quarters. They must also either be currently employed, have been employed within the last 12 weeks, or be a participating sole proprietor or self-employed individual.

Starting on January 1, 2022, eligible employees can receive PFML benefits when taking leave for the reasons allowed under the state's FMLA or family violence leave law. Employees may receive the benefits concurrently with any employer-provided benefits as long as their total compensation on leave does not exceed their regular compensation rate. But employees cannot receive PFML benefits concurrently with unemployment or workers' compensation benefits.

.

Benefit-Eligible Leaves				
 Parental Bonding For the: birth of the employee's child placement of a child with the employee for adoption or foster care 	Serious Health Conditions For the serious health condition of the employee or the employee's family member	Donors To serve as an organ or bone marrow donor	Armed Forces For family members in the armed forces: • undergoing treatment for an injury or illness incurred in the line of duty • being deployed to a	Family Violence For family violence victims to: • seek medical care or psychological counseling • obtain services from a victim services organization • relocate because of family
How Much is th	e Weekly Bene	fit?	foreign country (" <u>qualifying</u> <u>exigency</u> ")	 violence participate in a civil or criminal proceeding

How Much is the Weekly Benefit?

A covered employee's weekly benefit will be 95% of his or

her average weekly earnings, up to 40 times the state minimum wage, plus 60% of the amount of the employee's average weekly earnings that exceeds 40 times the minimum wage. Total benefits cannot exceed 60 times the

Weekly benefits for leave taken in July 2022 (when the minimum wage will be \$14).				
Employee's Average	Employee's PFML			
Weekly Earnings	Weekly Benefit			
\$280	\$266			
\$560	\$532			
\$840	\$700			
\$1,073 or more	\$840			

minimum wage. If the contribution rate is at its maximum (0.5%)but not generating enough to ensure the program's solvency, the authority must reduce benefit rates.

related to the family

What's the Difference Between PFML Benefits and FMLA Leave?

The PFML program provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible employees on leave. But the requirement for an employer to provide job-protected leave (unpaid by the employer) stems from

the state or federal FMLA. Connecticut's private-sector employers should particularly note that on January 1, 2022, the state FMLA's requirements will expand to include almost all private-sector employers, regardless of their size, and their employees who have worked for them for at least three months. Among other things, the list of family members for whom an employee may take leave will also expand. For a summary of the state FMLA's provisions in effect until 2022, see OLR Report 2015-R-0308.



OLR Public Act Summary for PA 19-25

CT Dept. of Labor's FMLA website

CT Paid Leave Authority FAQs

"State Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Laws," National Partnership for Women & Families



OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

Analyst: Lee Hansen **Connecticut General Assembly** <u>860-240-8400 | www.cga.ct.gov/olr</u>