

# **Small Claims Court Limits**

By: James Orlando, Chief Attorney Michelle Kirby, Senior Legislative Attorney January 24, 2023 | 2023-R-0052

#### Issue

Describe the monetary limits for small claims court actions in other states. This report updates OLR Report <u>2016-R-0187</u>.

## Summary

We compiled information on small claims court limits for all 50 states. These courts use different names in some states. Regardless of name, we looked at the court with the lowest jurisdictional limit in each state.

Based on our survey:

- 1. General small claims court limits range from \$2,500 in Kentucky to \$25,000 in Delaware and Tennessee.
- 2. Thirty-two states have a limit higher than Connecticut's.
- 3. Connecticut and 10 other states have a \$5,000 limit.
- 4. Five states have a limit lower than Connecticut's.
- 5. In two states, the limit varies in different parts of the state: New York (\$3,000 to \$10,000) and North Carolina (\$5,000 to \$10,000).

Table 1 below displays the limits in each state, organized from highest to lowest.

### Connecticut Law

Connecticut last increased its general limit for small claims actions in 2005, when <u>PA 05-42</u> increased the limit from \$3,500 to \$5,000.

Higher limits apply to certain cases involving (1) residential security deposits or (2) as of July 1, 2022, home improvement contractors or new home builders.

For more information on Connecticut law, see OLR Report <u>2022-R-0109</u>. Please note that the table is focused on the general limit imposed on the court's jurisdiction, although states may have exceptions with higher or lower limits for specific types of cases. For example:

- 1. Some states (including Connecticut) set a higher limit for certain landlord-tenant issues.
- Massachusetts has no limit in cases involving property damage caused by a motor vehicle. For cases brought by a city or town, the state (a) has no limit for cases to collect unpaid personal property tax and (b) increases the limit, from \$7,000 to \$15,000, for other cases (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 218, § 21).
- 3. Minnesota sets a lower limit for claims involving a consumer credit transaction (\$4,000 compared to the state's general \$15,000 limit) (<u>Minn. Stat. § 491A.01</u>).

At least one state, Nebraska, adjusts its small claims limit every five years based on the consumer price index (<u>Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-2802</u>).

State(s)	Limit
Delaware and Tennessee	\$25,000
Texas	20,000
Georgia, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Utah <sup>1</sup>	15,000
Pennsylvania and South Dakota	12,000
Alaska, California <sup>2</sup> , Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York <sup>3</sup> , North Carolina <sup>4</sup> , Oklahoma, Oregon, Washington <sup>5</sup> , West Virginia, and Wisconsin	10,000
Florida	8,000
Colorado and South Carolina	7,500
Massachusetts and Montana	7,000
lowa and Michigan <sup>6</sup>	6,500
Alabama, Maine, Ohio, and Wyoming	6,000
Arkansas, <b>Connecticut</b> , Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia	5,000
Kansas	4,000
Nebraska	3,900
Arizona and Mississippi	3,500
Kentucky	2,500

#### Table 1: General Small Claims Court Limits in Each State, From Highest to Lowest

Sources: Westlaw; state statutes; state court websites.

<sup>1</sup> Utah's limit is scheduled to increase to \$20,000 in 2025 and \$25,000 in 2030 (Utah Code § 78A-8-102).

<sup>2</sup> California's \$10,000 limit applies to cases brought by individuals; for businesses, the limit is \$5,000 (<u>Cal. Civ. Proc. Code §§</u> <u>116.220</u> & <u>116.221</u>).

<sup>3</sup> New York's \$10,000 limit applies to New York City only. In Nassau and Suffolk counties, the limit is \$5,000. In the rest of the state, the limit is \$5,000 in city courts or \$3,000 in town and village courts (see state's court system <u>website</u>).

 <sup>4</sup> North Carolina's limit varies by county, and ranges from \$5,000 to \$10,000 (see state's judicial branch <u>website</u>).
<sup>5</sup> Washington's \$10,000 limit applies to cases brought by individuals; for other cases, the limit is \$5,000 (<u>Wash. Rev. Code §</u>). <u>12.40.010</u>).

<sup>6</sup> Michigan's limit is scheduled to increase to \$7,000 in 2024 (<u>Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.8401</u>).

JO:co