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Issue  

Explain what happens to unclaimed bottle deposits under Connecticut’s beverage container 

redemption law (“bottle bill”) (CGS §§ 22a-243 to 22a-246, as amended by PA 23-204).  

 

This report updates information in OLR Report 2022-R-0125. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut law requires that unclaimed deposits, less any applicable bank fees, be shared by 

distributors (referred to in the law as “deposit initiators”) and the state’s General Fund according to 

a distribution formula that, beginning in FY 26, is tied to the statewide beverage container 

redemption rate. 

 

Under the state’s bottle bill, retailers (referred to in the law as “dealers”) give distributors five cents 

for each beverage container covered by the law that they receive. The distributor must (1) deposit 

the funds into a separate, interest-bearing bank account which must be held as a special fund in 

trust for the state and (2) use it to pay the refund value of redeemed beverage containers to the 

retailers or redemption centers. (The deposit amount increases to at least 10 cents on January 1, 

2024.) 

 

The law requires any interest, dividends, and returns earned on the account to be paid directly to 

the account. The distributors must quarterly pay to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) a 

certain percentage of the outstanding balance of unclaimed deposits in the account, less any 

applicable bank fees, for deposit into the General Fund.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446d.htm#sec_22a-243
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2023&bill_num=204
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2022/rpt/pdf/2022-R-0125.pdf
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For the first two quarters of FY 24, the percentage that must be paid to DRS is 0%. For the 

remainder of the fiscal year, distributors must pay 65% plus any amount remaining from the first 

two quarters that was not used to redeem deposits on certain containers after the deposit amount 

increases on January 1, 2024. The amount paid to DRS decreases to 50% for FY 25 and then, 

beginning in FY 26, it is tied to the average statewide beverage container redemption rate for the 

previous fiscal year which the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection annually 

calculates, as shown in Table 1. 

 

Table 1: Required Remittance of Unclaimed Deposits to General Fund 

 for FY 26 and After (PA 23-204, § 373) 

Fiscal Year 

(FY) 

Statewide Redemption Rate for 

Preceding Fiscal Year 

Required 

Remittance to 

General Fund 

FY 26 
At least 60% 25% 

Less than 60% 45% 

FY 27 

At least 65% 5% 

Greater than 60%, but less than 65% 25% 

60% or less 45% 

FY 28 and 

after 

At least 75% 5% 

Greater than 65%, but less than 75% 10% 

Greater than 60% to 65% 25% 

60% or less 45% 

 

The penalty for failing to make timely payments is the greater of 10% of the unpaid amount or $50, 

and unpaid amounts are subject to interest at 1% per month or fraction of a month. 

 

Table 2 lists the revenue generated from unclaimed bottle deposits for the three most recent fiscal 

years, as reported in DRS’s latest annual report. During these years, 100% of unclaimed deposits 

were deposited into the state’s General Fund (see Background, below). According to the report, 149 

entities remitted these funds to DRS. 

 

Table 2: Unclaimed Deposit Revenue Transferred to the General Fund, FYs 20 to 22 

Fiscal Year (FY) Revenue 

FY 22 $48,258,877 

FY 21 43,505,264 

FY 20 43,650,577 

Source: DRS Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Annual Report, page 21. 

 

https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DRS/Research/annualreport/DRS-FY22-Annual-Report.pdf
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Background  

Legislative History  

Connecticut’s bottle bill passed in 1978 (PA 78-16). That act allowed distributors to keep 100% of 

the unclaimed deposits. Legislation in 2008 and 2009 required distributors to (1) open the special 

accounts to hold the refund values of beverage containers sold in the state and (2) quarterly 

forward 100% of the unredeemed deposit balance from the special account for transfer to the 

state’s General Fund (PAs 08-01, November Special Session, § 11, and 09-01, § 15). In 2021, the 

legislature reduced the percentage of unclaimed deposits that distributors had to remit to DRS 

through the graduated reduction schedule shown in Table 3 (PA 21-58, § 4). 

 

Table 3: Percentage Distribution of Unclaimed Deposits Under PA 21-58 

Fiscal Year (FY) General Fund Distributors 

FY 23 95% 5% 

FY 24 65 35 

FY 25 55 45 

FY 26 and after 45 55 

 

 

KLM:kl 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=7601&which_year=2008
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5095&which_year=2009
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2021&bill_num=58

