

# Gift Card Cash Back Laws

By: Kristen Miller, Senior Legislative Attorney August 15, 2023 | 2023-R-0195

### Issue

List the states that require retailers to return a gift card's remaining cash value to the cardholder, including the statutory maximum amount they must return.

This report updates the information contained in OLR Report 2019-R-0185.

## Summary

Fourteen states require retailers to provide a cash refund, up to a certain amount, for a gift card's remaining value (see Table 1 below). The maximum amounts that these states require retailers to redeem for cash generally range from \$0.99 in Rhode Island and Vermont to \$9.99 in California, with the most common amount being \$4.99 (eight states, including Connecticut).

State	Maximum Amount
California ( <u>Cal. Civ. Code § 1749.5(b)(2)</u> )	\$9.99
Colorado ( <u>Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-722(b)(2)</u> )	5.00
Connecticut ( <u>Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-461(c)</u> , as amended by <u>PA 23-10</u> )	4.99
Hawaii (Haw. Rev. Stat. § 481B-13(c))	4.99
Maine (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 33, § 2067(6))	4.99
Massachusetts ( <u>Mass. Gen. Laws Ann.</u> <u>ch. 200A, § 5D</u> )	5.00*

### Table 1: States With Gift Card "Cash-Back" Laws

State	Maximum Amount
Montana ( <u>Mont. Code Ann. § 30-14-108(4)</u> )	4.99
New Jersey (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 56:8-110(c))	4.99
New York (N.Y. Gen. Bus. § 396-i(5-b))	4.99
Oregon ( <u>Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.276(1)(d)</u> )	4.99
Rhode Island (R.I. Gen. Laws § 6-13-12(a))	0.99
Texas (Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 604.152)	2.49
Vermont ( <u>Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 8, § 2704</u> )	0.99
Washington ( <u>Wash. Rev. Code</u> § 19.240.020(3))	4.99

### Table 1 (continued)

\*Or the remaining balance if at least 90% of the value is used on a gift card that cannot have value added.

Exemptions may apply, depending on the state. For example, many states require a gift card to be partially redeemed before a customer can request a refund or exempt cards with an initial value of less than the redeemable amount.

KLM:kl