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Issue

Does Connecticut statute require a notification be sent to a consumer after an introductory (trial)
rate ends and a regular rate starts applying (e.g., for a newspaper subscription or streaming
service)?

Summary

No, neither existing law nor a new law taking effect on October 1, 2023, require businesses to
notify consumers after a trial period ends and the regular subscription rate begins to apply.
Although both impose certain disclosure requirements at the beginning, neither require notice to be
provided when the trial period or offer ends.

With several notable exceptions (described below), a longstanding Connecticut law generally
requires businesses that make trial offers to disclose in writing, clearly and conspicuously, that the
consumer can cancel his or her membership when the trial offer expires. The written disclosure
must describe the cancellation procedure and (1) accompany either the promotional material or the
initial delivery of the product or (2) be provided before the start of the trial offer. But, a product or
service provided after the trial offer expires is deemed an unconditional gift if the consumer (1) has
cancelled the trial offer or (2) has not renewed it (CGS § 42-126h).

A new law, for consumer agreements entered into or amended on or after October 1, 2023, creates
additional requirements for businesses that offer or enter into a consumer agreement that has an
automatic renewal provision or continuous services provision, including such contracts that include

www.cga.ct.gov/olr Connecticut General Assembly (860) 240-8400
OLRequest@cga.ct.gov Office of Legislative Research Room 5300
| ¥ Stephanie A. D’Ambrose, Director Legislative Office Building



http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cga.ct.gov%2Fcurrent%2Fpub%2Fchap_739.htm%23sec_42-126b&data=05%7C01%7CJulia.Bansal%40cga.ct.gov%7C99a20381006b442ea68008daff17d8b4%7C3ec76714b1b4418a883232c46ec84226%7C0%7C0%7C638102775143297963%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=jFGjs69g%2Fea0GcqgpA5NTAUz5jFEQSOjX68GtkNpTH0%3D&reserved=0

a trial rate (PA 23-191, § 1 & PA 23-205, § 156). Generally, if the agreement includes a trial period,
then before the consumer enters into the agreement, the business must disclose how the
agreement’s pricing will change and what price will be charged after the period expires. Additional
disclosures must be provided shortly before the trial or promotional period ends.

Relatedly, the new law, among other things, also:

1. prohibits businesses that enter into or offer automatically renewing or continuous service
agreements from charging a consumer’s credit card, debit card, or third-party payment
account for any automatic renewal or continuous services without the consumer’s
affirmative consent; and

2. requires each business that enters into an online consumer agreement that has an
automatic renewal or continuous services provision to allow the consumer to take any action
needed to prevent the renewal or prevent or terminate the service online, at will, and
without requiring any offline action by the consumer.

Existing State Law on Trial Offers (CGS § 42-126b)

State law requires businesses that make trial offers to disclose in writing, clearly and
conspicuously, that the consumer can cancel his or her membership when the trial offer

expires. The written disclosure must describe the cancellation procedure and accompany either the
promotional material or the initial delivery of the product. With exceptions, any product or service
provided after the trial offer expires is deemed an unconditional gift if the consumer (1) has
cancelled the trial offer or (2) has not renewed it.

Violators of this law are subject to the Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act.

Applicability and Exceptions

This law on trial offers applies to any person, firm, partnership, association, or corporation that sells
or offers to sell any products or services used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes,
but it does not apply to any:

1. introductory rate where the rate paid by the consumer after the end of the introductory rate
period has been clearly and conspicuously disclosed to the consumer in the contract;

2. trial offer or introductory rate period provided by a public service company, its affiliate or
subsidiary, or any certified telecommunications provider, to any consumer with whom it has
an established and ongoing business relationship, provided it informs the consumer of the
procedure to cancel the trial offer or to cancel after the expiration of the introductory rate
period;
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3. transaction involving the use of a negative option plan (i.e., contracts that automatically
renew unless cancelled by a consumer) that is governed by federal law (i.e., 16 C.F.R. Part
425);

4. contract subject to the Connecticut Truth-in-Lending Act; or

5. banking, insurance, or securities product or service, the provision of which is subject to
regulation or licensing by the state or a federal agency.

New State Law on Trial Offers (PA 23-191,§ 1 & PA 23-205,
§ 156)

Under the new law, if a covered consumer agreement (see Applicability and Exceptions below)
includes a free gift or trial period, then before the consumer enters into the agreement, the
business must disclose how the agreement’s pricing will change and what price will be charged
after the period expires (in addition to other required disclosures for all covered agreements under
the new law).

If the agreement is offered electronically or telephonically and has a free gift or trial period, or a
discounted or promotional price period, the business must disclose the following to the consumer
electronically or telephonically shortly before the period ends (see below):

1. that the business will automatically renew or provide continuous services under the
agreement until the consumer acts to prevent it;

2. the duration of the automatic renewal term or continuous services and any additional
provisions about them;

3. adescription of what the consumer must do to stop the renewal or services; and

4. if the agreement is offered electronically, a prominently displayed direct link or button, or an
email message, as required by the new law’s provisions for opting out of online agreements.

(But a business does not have to make these disclosures for free gifts and trial periods if it has not
collected or maintained the consumer’s email address or telephone number, as applicable, and
cannot make the disclosure to the consumer.)

Specifically, the disclosure timing depends on the duration of the free gift or trial period, or
discounted or promotional period:

1. if the period is a least 32 days long, the disclosure must occur at least 21 days after the
period starts, but no earlier than three days before it expires; and
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2. ifthe period lasts for at least one year, then the disclosure must occur 15 to 45 days before
it expires.

The new law also requires that all of the disclosures described above meet certain additional
conditions depending on how the related consumer agreement is presented. Disclosures for
electronic or written agreements must be in a form that the consumer can retain and in a text that
is either (1) larger than any surrounding text or (2) the same size, but (a) in a contrasting typeface,
font, or color or (b) set off from the surrounding text by symbols or other marks that draw the
consumer’s attention to the disclosure. Disclosures for verbal or telephone agreements must be at
a volume and cadence that the consumer can readily hear and understand.

Applicability and Exceptions

The new law applies to agreements for articles or services, purchased, leased, exchanged, or
received primarily for personal, family, or household purposes that either contain a provision that
allows the business to (1) renew the agreement without any action by the consumer (i.e., an
automatic renewal provision) or (2) continue providing service to the consumer until the consumer
takes action to prevent or terminate it (i.e., a continuous service provision). But it does not apply to
agreements:

1. concerning a service provided by a business or its affiliate where either is doing business
under a (a) franchise issued by a political subdivision of the state, or (b) license, franchise,
certificate, or other authorization issued by the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority;

2. concerning a service provided by a business or its affiliate where either the business or its
affiliate is regulated by the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority, the Federal Communications
Commission, or the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission;

3. with any entity regulated by the Insurance Department or an affiliate of such entity;

4. with any bank, out-of-state bank, bank holding company, Connecticut credit union, federal
credit union, or out-of-state credit union, or any subsidiary thereof; or

5. concerning any national or global service largely or predominately consisting of audiovisual
content.
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