

Number of Municipal Police Departments in Connecticut

By: Rute Pinho, Chief Legislative Analyst October 23, 2023 | 2023-R-0265

Issue

How many municipal police departments are in Connecticut, and how many police officers do they employ? This report updates OLR Report <u>2022-R-0025</u>.

Connecticut Municipal Police Departments

Connecticut has 95 municipal police departments. As of October 19, 2023, these departments employed a total of 6,754 police officers. Twenty departments employ 100 or more police officers; 23 employ between 50 to 99 officers, and 52 employ fewer than 50 officers, including 13 that employ fewer than 20. Table 1 lists the municipal police departments and number of police officers employed in each.

In addition to these 95 municipal police departments, all or part of the 78 municipalities shown in Figure 1 are under State Police jurisdiction either because they do not have their own organized police department or have agreed, under a contract, to let the State Police supervise their police officers or constables. Fifty-five have elected for resident state troopers who are stationed in the municipalities and work exclusively with them. The other 23 are served by the State Police troop responsible for the municipality. Largest Municipal Police Departments

Hartford: 382 New Haven: 352 Waterbury: 293 Bridgeport: 289 Stamford: 273 Greenwich: 182 Norwalk: 179 Danbury: 178 New Britain: 162 West Hartford: 150

Department	# of Officers ²	Department	# of Officers ²	Department	# of Officers ²
Ansonia	47	Guilford	36	Ridgefield	42
Avon	33	Hamden	101	Rocky Hill	40
Berlin	50	Hartford	382	Seymour	46
Bethel	45	Ledyard	23	Shelton	55
Bloomfield	48	Madison	33	Simsbury	39
Branford	54	Manchester	115	South Windsor	47
Bridgeport	289	Meriden	132	Southington	87
Bristol	114	Middlebury	23	Stamford	273
Brookfield	43	Middletown	123	Stonington	42
Canton	16	Milford	121	Stratford	100
Cheshire	49	Monroe	50	Suffield	21
Clinton	25	Montville	31	Thomaston	19
Coventry	15	Naugatuck	72	Torrington	74
Cromwell	27	New Britain	162	Trumbull	76
Danbury	178	New Canaan	47	Vernon	45
Darien	54	New Haven	352	Wallingford	76
Derby	32	New London	75	Waterbury	293
East Hampton	18	New Milford	49	Waterford	49
East Hartford	122	Newington	51	Watertown	50
East Haven	64	Newtown	49	West Hartford	150
East Lyme	31	North Branford	24	West Haven	128
East Windsor	22	North Haven	70	Weston	17
Easton	15	Norwalk	179	Westport	65
Enfield	94	Norwich	84	Wethersfield	55
Fairfield	126	Old Saybrook	38	Willimantic	44
Farmington	57	Orange	47	Wilton	43
Glastonbury	57	Plainfield	20	Winchester	19
Granby	15	Plainville	40	Windsor	51
Greenwich	182	Plymouth	23	Windsor Locks	30
Groton City	28	Portland	12	Wolcott	25
Groton Long Point	14	Putnam ³	16	Woodbridge	19
Groton Town	74	Redding	16	TOTAL	6,754

Source: OLR analysis of Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) data

¹ Excludes the following law enforcement units: State Police, police within specified state agencies (e.g., Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services and Department of Revenue Services), State Environmental Conservation police, State Capitol police, Connecticut Airport Authority police, university campus police, tribal police, Metropolitan District police, Metropolitan Transportation Authority police, Amtrack Railroad police, Regional Water Authority police, and Aquarion Water Company police.

 $^{\rm 2}$ Includes officers with a "certified" or "probationary" status

³ Putnam has a service district that has its own police department; the rest of the town is under State Police jurisdiction



Figure 1: Connecticut State Police Jurisdiction as of August 2023

RP:co