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Issue 

Provide information on other states’ laws banning female genital mutilation (FGM) and Connecticut 

bills on this topic. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut does not have any laws specifically addressing 

FGM. Since 2018, various legislative committees have 

considered bills on this topic, but none became law.  

 

Forty-one states have laws making it a crime to perform FGM 

on minors, subject to limited medical exceptions; some of 

these laws address adult FGM as well. Some of these laws 

similarly make it a crime (1) to transport a minor for purposes 

of FGM or (2) for a parent or guardian to consent to FGM 

being performed on their child. Some laws also address other 

related issues, such as (1) civil causes of actions for victims 

of FGM and (2) public education campaigns about FGM.  

 

Below is an overview of FGM-specific laws in select states (Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, 

South Carolina, and Wyoming) and a brief summary of recent Connecticut bills on this topic.  

 

 

Female Genital Mutilation 

According to the World Health 

Organization (WHO), FGM 

“comprises all procedures that 

involve partial or total removal of 

the external female genitalia, or 

other injury to the female genital 

organs for non-medical reasons.” 

The WHO reports that FGM is 

typically carried out on young girls 

between infancy and adolescence. 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/female-genital-mutilation
https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/female-genital-mutilation
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Examples of Other States’ Laws  

Massachusetts 

Under a 2020 Massachusetts law, it is a crime to knowingly 

commit FGM on a minor (under age 18). It is also a crime to 

knowingly (1) transport a minor within the state, or (2) send 

a minor out of state, with the intent that the person or 

another person commit FGM. The law defines FGM as 

“partially or totally removing the female genitalia or altering 

the structure or function of the female genitalia for non-

medical purposes.” This includes, among other things, 

infibulation, the partial or total removal of the clitoris, or any 

other procedure that causes injury to the female genitalia for 

non-medical purposes. These crimes are punishable by (1) 

up to five years in prison or (2) a fine of up to $10,000 and 

up to 2 ½ years in prison. 

 

The law provides exceptions for procedures performed by 

licensed medical providers (1) to preserve or protect the 

person’s health in the course of medical treatment or (2) for 

gender reassignment as requested by the person.  

 

Under this law, it is not a defense that the defendant believed his or her actions were conducted as 

a matter of custom or ritual or that the person (or the person’s parent or guardian) consented to the 

procedure (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 60). 

 

Massachusetts law also specifically allows a victim of FGM to bring a lawsuit for actual and 

compensatory damages, punitive damages, and injunctive or other relief. The court can award triple 

damages if the defendant’s actions were willful and malicious. The court must award attorney’s 

fees and costs to a prevailing plaintiff. The victim has 10 years to bring the lawsuit; for a minor, the 

10-year period does not start until she turns age 18 (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, § 4E). 

 

Additionally, Massachusetts law requires the public health commissioner to develop and administer 

an education program for FGM prevention. The program must provide information about the health 

risks and emotional trauma inflicted by this practice, and the associated criminal penalties.  

The commissioner must also: 

Related Federal Law 

Since 1996, federal law generally has 

made it a crime to knowingly perform 

FGM on a minor. In November 2018, a 

federal court in Michigan ruled this law 

to be unconstitutional, finding that it 

exceeded congressional powers (U.S. 

v. Nagarwala, 350 F. Supp. 3d 613 

(E.D. Mich. 2018)).  

Congress later amended the law to 

require a link to interstate or foreign 

commerce, through the Stop FGM Act 

of 2020 (signed into law in January 

2021) (P.L. 116-309).  

Among other things, the federal law 

also includes an annual reporting 

requirement on FGM statistics and 

related matters.  

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartIV/TitleI/Chapter265/Section60
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartIII/TitleV/Chapter260/Section4E
https://scholar.google.com/scholar_case?case=16355310399862911184&q=U.S.+v.+Nagarwala,+350+F.+Supp.+3d+613&hl=en&as_sdt=8006&as_vis=1
https://scholar.google.com/scholar_case?case=16355310399862911184&q=U.S.+v.+Nagarwala,+350+F.+Supp.+3d+613&hl=en&as_sdt=8006&as_vis=1
https://www.congress.gov/116/plaws/publ309/PLAW-116publ309.pdf
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1. develop policies and procedures to promote partnerships between the department, various 

state agencies, and other government entities and non-governmental organizations to 

prevent FGM and to protect and provide assistance to victims;  

2. make recommendations and develop procedures for ways to train health care providers on 

recognizing the risk factors associated with FGM and the signs that an individual may be a 

victim (subject to available appropriations, the commissioner may contract with outside 

entities or individuals to provide training and other services); and 

3. develop implementing regulations (Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 111, § 220A). 

 

New York 

New York law generally makes it a crime to perform FGM on a minor. It is also a crime for a parent 

or other person legally responsible for the care or custody of a child under age 18 to knowingly 

consent to genital mutilation being performed on the child. The law provides exceptions for 

procedures by certain medical professionals that are (1) necessary to the health of the person on 

whom it was perfomed or (2) performed on a person in labor or who has just given birth and is 

performed for medical purposes connected to the labor or birth.  

 

The law specifies that no account must be taken of any belief (by the minor or anyone else) that the 

procedure is required as a matter of custom or ritual. Violations are classified as class E felonies 

(N.Y. Penal Law § 130.85). 

 

Additionally, New York law makes it a class A misdemeanor crime to facilitate the performance of 

FGM on a minor (N.Y. Penal Law § 260.22). 

 

New York law also specifically allows the state Department of Health to conduct education and 

outreach programs on the physical, sexual, and psychological consequences of FGM, including the 

practice of “vacation cutting” in which girls are sent out of the state or country to undergo the 

procedure, typically during school vacations (N.Y. Public Health Law § 207(1)(k)).  

 

Rhode Island 

Rhode Island law specifically classifies FGM (regardless of the victim’s age) as a type of serious 

bodily injury for purposes of the felony assault statute, punishable by up to 20 years in prison (R.I. 

Gen Laws § 11-5-2). 

 

South Carolina 

South Carolina law generally makes it a crime to knowingly (1) mutilate (i.e., perform FGM) or 

attempt to mutilate a female who is under age 18 or unable to consent; (2) facilitate this mutilation 

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXVI/Chapter111/Section220A
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PEN/130.85
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PEN/260.22
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/207
https://law.justia.com/codes/rhode-island/2020/title-11/chapter-11-5/section-11-5-2/
https://law.justia.com/codes/rhode-island/2020/title-11/chapter-11-5/section-11-5-2/
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on such an individual; or (3) transport or facilitate the transportation of such an individual for the 

purpose of mutilation. The law provides an exception if the procedure is (1) necessary to the 

physical health of the person on whom it was performed or (2) performed on someone who has just 

given birth for medical purposes connected with that labor or birth. 

 

It is not a defense that FGM is (1) required as a matter of belief, custom, or ritual or (2) consented 

to by the individual or her parent or legal guardian. 

 

This crime is punishable by up to 20 years in prison, a fine of up to $20,000, or both. In addition, if 

a medical professional performed, participated in, or facilitated the procedure and the exceptions 

listed above do not apply, that person’s professional license or certification is permanently revoked 

(S.C. Code §§ 16-3-2220 & -2230). 

 

South Carolina also specifies that child abuse or neglect includes when a parent, guardian, or 

someone else responsible for a child’s welfare (1) commits or allows to be committed FGM against 

the child or (2) engages in acts or omissions that present a substantial risk that the crime of FGM 

would be committed against the child (S.C. Code § 63-7-20(6)(a)). 

 

Wyoming 

Under Wyoming law, it is generally aggravated assault and battery to intentionally, knowingly, or 

recklessly cause FGM to be performed on a person who is under age 18. The law excludes from the 

definition of FGM a procedure performed by a licensed health care provider that is medically 

necessary due to a medically recognized condition or medically advisable or necessary to preserve 

or protect the person’s physical health.  

 

It is not a defense that the individual herself, or her parent, guardian, or custodian, consented to 

the FGM procedure. Religion, ritual, custom, or standard practice is also not a defense. The crime is 

punishable by five to 25 years in prison (Wy. Stat. §§ 6-1-104(a)(xvii) & 6-2-502). 

 

The law also specifically provides a civil cause of action for victims against someone who engages 

in this prohibited conduct, regardless of whether the person was charged or convicted. The victim 

may recover damages, exemplary damages, reasonable attorney’s fees, costs, and any other 

appropriate relief. A victim may bring the lawsuit within 10 years after (1) the procedure or (2) her 

18th birthday (Wy. Stat. § 1-1-139). 

 

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t16c003.php
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t16c003.php
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t63c007.php
https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title06.pdf
https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title06.pdf
https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title01.pdf
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Additionally, the law requires the department of health, the attorney general’s office division of 

victim services, or both together to develop a community education program on FGM. The program 

must include: 

1. education, prevention, and outreach materials regarding the health risks and emotional 

trauma inflicted by this practice; 

2. ways to develop and distribute information on recognizing associated risk factors; and 

3. training materials (for law enforcement, teachers, and others who are mandated child abuse 

reporters) on related matters, such as signs that someone may be a victim of FGM and best 

practices to respond to victims. 

  

Law enforcement, teachers, and mandated reporters must incorporate the training into their 

professional development programs and provide the training to employees and volunteers (Wy. 

Stat. § 35-25-401). 

 

Connecticut Bills 

Since 2018, three legislative committees have considered fully drafted bills on FGM. The Children’s 

and Public Health Committee each considered a bill that would have made it a class D felony to 

perform FGM on a minor, subject to certain medical exceptions (sSB 190 (2018) and HB 5142 

(2019), respectively). The Judiciary Committee considered similar bills, as well as bills that would 

have required the Department of Public Health (DPH) commissioner, in consultation with the UConn 

School of Public Health or UConn Health Center, to study and report on FGM in the state (sSB 505 

(2019); SB 74 (2020); and SB 1069 (2021)). 

 

Two of the five bills referenced above were voted out of committee: 

 

• sSB 190 (2018) (banning FGM on minors, with certain medical exceptions): The Children’s 

Committee favorably reported the bill. The Senate referred the bill to the Judiciary 

Committee, which took no action on it. 

 

• sSB 505 (2019) (requiring a DPH study): The Judiciary Committee favorably reported the bill 

(the substitute bill included the study provisions, replacing the earlier version which instead 

would have banned FGM on minors with certain medical exceptions). The bill was rejected 

by the Senate.  

 

 

JO:co 

https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title35.pdf
https://wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title35.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=190
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=5142
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=505
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2020&bill_num=74
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=1069
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=190
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=505

