

# Issue Brief



Connecticut's Paid Sick Leave Law

Connecticut law requires covered employers to provide covered employees with paid sick leave. <u>PA 24-8</u> makes a number of changes to this law as of January 1, 2025, and expands the law's coverage to nearly all private sector employers over the next several years. This Issue Brief describes the law as it will be in effect on January 1, 2025.

Employers	Date Covered by Paid Sick Leave Law
With at least <u><b>25</b></u> employees	January 1, 2025
With at least <u><b>11</b></u> employees	January 1, 2026
With <u>any</u> employees	January 1, 2027

#### **Applicability to Employers**

The paid sick leave law's applicability to an employer is determined by the number of employees on the employer's payroll for the week

that includes January 1 annually. The law does not (1) apply to employers that participate in a multi-employer health plan requiring contributions from multiple employers and maintained under a collective bargaining agreement between employers and a construction-related tradesperson union, (2) apply to self-employed people, or (3) override certain collective bargaining agreements.

#### **Employees**

The law covers nearly all private sector employees, except for seasonal employees and construction workers employed by exempted employers.

#### **Retaliatory Personnel Actions**

The law prohibits employers from taking retaliatory personnel actions or discriminating against an employee for (1) using paid sick leave or (2) filing a complaint with the Labor Commissioner alleging that the employer violated the law.

#### **Employer Notice and Documentation**

Employers are prohibited from requiring their employees to provide any documentation that they are taking leave for a reason allowed by the law.

## Leave Accrual and Availability

- Employees must accrue leave (1) at the rate of at least one hour per every 30 hours worked and (2) up to at least 40 hours per year.
- Accrual begins on an employee's first day of employment.
- Employees can use their leave starting on the 120th calendar day of their employment.
- Employees exempt from federal law's overtime pay requirements are treated as if they work 40 hours per week for leave accrual purposes unless they normally work under 40 hours a week (leave accrual is then based on the number of hours in their normal work week).

### Replacements

Employers are prohibited from requiring employees taking paid sick leave to look for or find a replacement to cover the hours they were scheduled to work.

## **Employer Notice and Record Requirements**

Employers must:

- notify employees about certain provisions when they are hired (such as how leave accrues and may be used);
- o display a poster in the workplace;
- give each employee written notice about these provisions by January 1, 2025, or when an employee is hired, whichever is later;
- if the employer does not have a physical workplace, or an employee works remotely, send the notice through electronic communication or conspicuously post it on a web-based or appbased platform;
- include on an employee's paystubs the employee's accrued paid sick time and use for the calendar year; and
- keep certain records.

## Permitted Uses of Paid Sick Leave

- Preventative medical care for an employee's or family member's physical or mental health;
- 2. Medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of an employee's or family member's mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition;
- 3. An employee's or family member's illness, injury, or health condition;
- 4. Mental health wellness day;
- Employer's place of business or a family member's school or place of care is closed by a public official's order due to a public health emergency;
- 6. The employee or a family member poses a risk to other's health due to exposure to a communicable disease, regardless of whether they contracted it (for example, when under quarantine); or
- 7. The employee or a family member is a victim of family violence or sexual assault and needs leave to do certain things (such as getting care or counseling or participating in civil or criminal proceedings).



What is Paid Sick Leave? - Connecticut DOL

OLR PA Summary (PA 24-8)



OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

Analyst: Alyssa Santos Connecticut General Assembly 860-240-8400 | <u>www.cga.ct.gov/olr</u>