Aging Committee JOINT FAVORABLE REPORT

Bill No.:SB-1175
AN ACT CONCERNING PUBLIC HEARINGS FOR CERTAIN RATE INCREASES
Title:Title:AT ASSISTED LIVING FACILITIES.Vote Date:3/4/2025Vote Action:Joint FavorablePH Date:2/6/2025File No.:Image: State S

Disclaimer: The following JOINT FAVORABLE Report is prepared for the benefit of the members of the General Assembly, solely for purposes of information, summarization and explanation and does not represent the intent of the General Assembly or either chamber thereof for any purpose.

SPONSORS OF BILL:

Aging Committee

REASONS FOR BILL:

The legislation requires assisted living services agencies hold a public information hearing within 30 days of when a fee increase in excess of 10% of the previous fee takes effect, giving an opportunity for the public and others to comment. The Aging committee has heard reports about assisted living facilities increasing fees for their residents by large amounts, sometimes in excess of 30% of the previous fee. These fee increases with little to no notice can put residents of these facilities in a very difficult position, and they often have no choice but to stay and pay the increased fee. This bill is meant to address this problem by ensuring that residents have time to respond and react to any significant fee increases.

RESPONSE FROM ADMINISTRATION/AGENCY:

Connecticut Dept. of Aging and Disability Services, Ms. Mairead Painter, State Long-<u>Term Care Ombudsman</u>: They are in **support** of this proposal. Many of these charges come as a surprise to the people who have made these settings their home. There is no formal process to ensure that we do not see price gouging with this portion of our long-term care community.

NATURE AND SOURCES OF SUPPORT:

LeadingAge Connecticut, Ms. Mag Morelli, President: They ask that the Committee not act on this bill and wait to assess the impact of the legislation passed during the last session regarding assisted living service agencies. PA 24-39 took effect on October 1, 2024. The new law requires that assisted living service agencies disclose any fee increase to residents or

residents' representatives no later than 60 days before the increase is to take effect. PA 24-39 also required the Long-Term Care Ombudsman to develop a consumer guide which has been done and was recently posted on her website.

Home Matters Caregiving, Mr. Matthew Scher and Ms. Asha Scher, Owners: They are in support of legislation that improves senior care.

NATURE AND SOURCES OF OPPOSITION:

Connecticut Assisted Living Association, Mr. Chris Carter, President: They are **opposed** to this proposal since that public informational hearings are not required for other similar business entities. Additionally, protection and notice requirements surrounding fee increases at assisted living communities were developed by the workgroup led by the Long-Term Care Ombudsman with input from industry associations and passed into law which was effective October 1, 2024. We should not be adding additional requirements without allowing time to determine the effectiveness of those recently enacted protections.

Reported by: Richard Ferrari, Assistant Clerk Alexander Mercier, Clerk Date: 3/14/2025