OLR Bill Analysis SB 78

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR LOCAL REPRESENTATION ON THE CONNECTICUT SITING COUNCIL.

SUMMARY

For any Connecticut Siting Council proceeding occurring on or after October 1, 2025, this bill requires the council's membership to include an elector from the municipality where the proposed facility would be located, in addition to the existing membership (see BACKGROUND). Under the bill, the municipality's chief elected official generally must appoint the elector. However, if the proposed facility would be in more than one municipality, the applicable regional council of governments for the affected municipalities must appoint the elector.

The bill requires the elector to serve as a nonvoting member and abide by all applicable confidentiality rules. By law, public members of the council must be compensated for their attendance at public hearings, executive sessions, or other council business at a rate of \$200 per activity, capped at \$200 a day.

The bill also makes technical and conforming changes.

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2025

BACKGROUND

Siting Council Membership — Energy and Telecommunications

For energy and telecommunications facility proceedings, the existing council membership includes the following nine members:

- 1. the energy and environmental protection commissioner or her designee,
- 2. the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority chairperson or her designee,

- 3. one designee each from the House speaker and Senate president pro tempore, and
- 4. five public members appointed by the governor.

By law, at least two of the public members must have ecology experience. Additionally, all five public members must have no substantial financial interest in, not be employed in or by, and not be professionally affiliated with any utility or facility under the council's jurisdiction, including hazardous waste facilities and ash residue disposal areas. The law further prohibits the public members from having had a professional affiliation with any utility or these facilities for three years before their appointment to the council.

Siting Council Membership — Hazardous Waste

For hazardous waste facility proceedings, the existing council membership consists of the following 13 members:

- 1. the public health and emergency services and public protection commissioners or their designees;
- 2. the designees of the House speaker and Senate president pro tempore as described above;
- 3. the five members of the public appointed by the governor as described above; and
- 4. four ad hoc members, three of whom must be electors from the municipality where the facility is being proposed and one who must be from a neighboring municipality likely to be most affected by the proposed facility, appointed by their municipality's chief elected officer.

By law, if any of the governor's appointed public members or the House speaker's or Senate president pro tempore's designees live in the municipality where a hazardous or low-level radioactive waste facility is proposed or in the neighboring municipality most likely to be affected by the proposed facility, then the appointing authority must appoint a substitute member for the proceedings on that proposed facility.

COMMITTEE ACTION

Environment Committee

Joint Favorable Yea 30 Nay 5 (02/28/2025)