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Notice to Readers 

This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts and special acts) significantly affecting the 

banking industry enacted during the 2025 regular legislative session. OLR’s other Acts Affecting 

reports are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website.  

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) or special act (SA) number. Not all provisions of the 

acts are included. The report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. 

Complete summaries of public acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website. 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the General 

Assembly’s website or the Connecticut State Library. 

  

Cover image by Iftikharalam from Vecteezy.com 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp
https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp
https://www.cga.ct.gov/
https://www.cga.ct.gov/
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Bank and Credit Union Regulation 

Bank Applications and Operations  

Newly enacted legislation makes several changes that affect the applications and operations of 

several types of state banks. Among other things, it (1) increases the application fee to organize a 

Connecticut bank from $15,000 to $20,000; (2) increases the amount of deposit assets that trust 

banks and innovation banks must keep from $1 million to $1.5 million; and (3) exempts innovation 

banks from one of several existing (a) factors for assessing whether an application to organize a 

Connecticut bank serves the public interest and (b) considerations for approving a Connecticut 

bank’s main office relocation (PA 25-104, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Bank Real Estate Alterations and Improvements 

For Connecticut banks, a new law adds a second exception to the requirement that they have the 

Department of Banking (DOB) commissioner’s written approval before altering or improving their 

business real estate. Under this exception, approval is not needed to alter or improve real estate 

that a Connecticut bank, or a corporation controlled by it, already owns or leases so long as the 

bank is (1) adequately capitalized under federal law and (2) not the subject of a pending formal 

enforcement action by the commissioner or the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (PA 25-11, 

effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Community Bank and Credit Union Investment Program 

A new law increases the pool of financial institutions eligible to participate in the treasurer’s 

Community Bank and Credit Union Initiative by (1) adding federal banks and out-of-state banks and 

(2) reinstating federal credit unions. Under this initiative, the treasurer may invest up to $300 

million, based on available cash, with community banks and community credit unions. Participating 

institutions originate loans to individuals and small-to-medium sized companies and provide 

banking services in underserved markets (PA 25-103, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Credit Union Operations  

The legislature enacted several changes to laws governing state-chartered credit unions’ 

operations. Among them, it: 

1. allows for the extension of credit with preferential rates or terms to insiders, employees, and 

governing board members under certain circumstances; 

2. expands the list of loans exempt from credit union business loan requirements;  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=104
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=11
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB01255&which_year=2025
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3. shifts, from the governing board to senior management, the authority to approve charitable 

contributions or gifts that fall below a certain threshold;  

4. removes regular reserves from inclusion in certain calculations of capital and net worth; and  

5. allows certified community development financial institutions to accept nonmember 

deposits up to certain caps based on the credit union’s total assets (PA 25-37, effective July 

1, 2025). 

 

Banking Department Studies 

Limited Purpose Trust Companies  

A provision in the annual bond act requires DOB to study and report to the Banking Committee, by 

December 1, 2025, on the establishment of limited purpose trust companies in Connecticut. Its 

report must have recommendations for legislation necessary to authorize the companies’ 

establishment (PA 25-174, § 201, effective upon passage). 

 

Wrongful Incarceration Presettlement Funding 

The legislature has tasked the DOB commissioner, or his designee, with studying and reporting on 

presettlement funding provided to individuals seeking compensation from the state for wrongful 

incarceration. The study and report must have recommended legislative changes needed to (1) 

increase consumer protections for individuals who enter into agreements to be repaid upon 

receiving a wrongful incarceration award and (2) have a process to appoint a trustee for an 

individual awaiting this award. The report is due to the Banking, General Law, and Judiciary 

committees by January 8, 2026 (SA 25-20, effective upon passage). 

 

Connecticut Data Privacy Act  

The Connecticut Data Privacy Act (CTDPA) sets a framework for controlling and processing personal 

data by, among other things, setting responsibilities and privacy protection standards for data 

controllers and processors. This session, the legislature specified the list of financial entities 

exempt from the CTDPA’s requirements to include several types of banks, credit unions, and 

individuals DOB regulates (PA 25-113, § 7, effective July 1, 2026).  

 

Debt Collection  

Antidiscrimination Protection  

This session, the legislature passed a new law that, among other things, makes sexual assault 

victim status and trafficking in persons victim status protected classes under the Commission on 

Human Rights and Opportunities antidiscrimination laws. In doing so, the new law specifically 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7083
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=174
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=1544
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=113
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prohibits a creditor from discriminating against an adult in a credit transaction based on the 

person’s status as a sexual assault or human trafficking victim (PA 25-139, § 8, effective October 

1, 2025). 

 

Coerced Debt Liability 

Among other things, a new law changes the lookback period for debt to be eligible to be waived as 

coerced debt, by requiring that it be less than 10 years old rather than more than 10 years old as 

under prior law. By law, coerced debt is a debt incurred in the name of a debtor who is a victim of 

domestic violence when the debt was incurred through duress, intimidation, threat of force, force, 

or undue influence used to specifically coerce the debtor into incurring the debt. The law prohibits 

anyone from knowingly causing another person to incur coerced debt and subjects violators to civil 

liability (PA 25-91, § 25, effective upon passage). 

 

Municipal Tax Lien Assignments 

By law, an assignee of a municipal tax lien for unpaid taxes generally has the same powers and 

rights as the municipality in terms of the lien’s priority, interest accrual, and the fees and expenses 

of collection and to prepare and record the assignment. Provisions in the act implementing the 

biennial budget, however, prohibit an assignee from imposing post-charge-off charges or fees for 

collection costs. The act also, among other things, treats these assignees as consumer collection 

agencies, subjecting them to DOB requirements for these agencies, and allows them to receive 

assignments as a third party of claims to collect or file a lawsuit (PA 25-168, §§ 446-448, effective 

October 1, 2025). 

 

Earned Wage Access Products  

This session, the legislature passed a law that regulates advances of money on future wages or 

earned salary that are earned but not yet paid (commonly referred to as “earned wage access” 

products) differently than traditional small loans. Under this law, these advances are subject to 

finance charge caps of $4 per advance and $30 per month. Additionally, advance providers must 

give borrowers certain disclosures, verify income, offer ways to receive no-cost advances, and 

reimburse certain banking fees. The new law also prohibits them from taking certain actions 

generally concerning fees or charges, borrower payments, and collection practices. For example, 

they cannot accept repayment by a credit or charge card or report information about repayment to 

a consumer reporting or consumer collection agency (PA 25-155, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=139
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=91
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=168
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=1396
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Insurance and Surety  

Federal Home Loan Bank Involvement 

The legislature amended the Insurers Rehabilitation and Liquidation Act to allow certain activities to 

proceed when a Federal Home Loan (FHL) Bank is a party to an agreement with an insurer under 

conservation, rehabilitation, liquidation, or administrative supervision by the state Insurance 

Department. (FHL Banks are regional, wholesale suppliers of lendable funds to certain financial 

institutions.)  

 

Among other things, the new law (1) eliminates, for up to 10 business days, the automatic stay that 

an application or petition for a delinquency proceeding, rehabilitation, or liquidation order typically 

grants when an FHL Bank is a party; (2) requires, to the extent agreements to which an FHL Bank is 

a party have preferences to creditors, an insurer’s liquidator to carry a preference out; and (3) sets 

requirements for how an FHL Bank may exercise collateral rights (PA 25-87, §§ 9-14, effective 

October 1, 2025). 

 

Surety Bond Cancellations and Updates  

A new law generally requires surety companies to give all their cancellation notices electronically for 

the bonds they issue to certain DOB regulated entities. More specifically, it requires them to give 

written cancellation notices through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry 

(NMLS). This applies to bonds issued to, among others, money transmitters, consumer collection 

agencies, and several types of mortgage-related entities. Additionally, the act requires these and 

other licensees to update their surety bonds when they change their legal names instead of when 

they change their office names or addresses (PA 25-115, §§ 1-11 & 14, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Licensing and Related Oversight 

Broadened DOB Enforcement Authority 

Omnibus banking legislation extended some of the state’s banking enforcement laws to apply to 

DOB-issued registrations, which include certain positions in the mortgage, student loan, and 

commercial financing fields. Effectively, these laws (1) authorize the commissioner to suspend, 

revoke, or refuse to renew any registration he issues under state law according to notice and 

hearing procedures and (2) establish processes for him to follow when these registrations are 

surrendered or expire as well as when applications for them are withdrawn. Prior law limited their 

application to DOB-issued licenses (PA 25-115, § 16, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=87
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
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Cannabis Backer Exclusion 

By law, a cannabis establishment backer is generally an individual with a financial interest in a 

cannabis establishment, and backers must be licensed by the Department of Consumer Protection. 

A new law excludes certain financial institutions, including banks and credit unions, that provide 

non-equity financing to a cannabis establishment and do not directly participate in its control, 

management, or operation from being considered a backer, thus no longer requiring this licensure 

for them (PA 25-101, § 7, effective upon passage). 

 

Commercial Finance Lenders  

The session’s omnibus banking act makes several changes affecting lenders offering “commercial 

financing” (i.e. a sales-based financing transaction of $250,000 or less, the proceeds of which are 

not primarily for personal, family, or household purposes). Among other things, it increases the 

base renewal fee for commercial financing registrants from $500 to $1,000 and specifies that DOB 

may consider certain misconduct by registrants’ employees and agents against registrants (PA 25-

115, §§ 22 & 23, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Licensure for Administering Payments or Accounts  

The omnibus banking act expands the types of activities that require someone to obtain certain 

licenses and registrations under the state’s banking laws. Under the act, sales finance company, 

small loan, and mortgage servicing activity requiring licensure includes receiving any payments 

(including fees) in connection with respectively, a retail installment contract or installment loan 

contract, small loan, and residential mortgage loan, instead of just principal and interest payments 

under one. The act also changes what is considered “servicing” for private student loan and federal 

student loan servicers to encompass receiving any payment, rather than just scheduled periodic 

ones, and maintaining account records for and communicating with a borrower about his or her 

loan during any period that payments are not required, instead of periods outside of scheduled 

periodic payments (PA 25-115, §§ 12 & 17-19, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Mortgage Lenders and Servicers 

The session’s omnibus banking act changes an exemption that allows certain mortgage lenders to 

act as mortgage servicers without having to be separately licensed. It generally carries this 

exemption forward but further requires the lenders to register on NMLS as “exempt mortgage 

servicer registrants” before acting as servicers. It relatedly authorizes the DOB commissioner to 

suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew these registrations. 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=101
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
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This same new law changes the process under which several different entities claiming an 

exemption from licensure as a mortgage lender, correspondent lender, or broker may register on 

NMLS as an exempt registrant to sponsor a mortgage loan originator or a loan processor or 

underwriter. Specifically, it creates a registration timeline and fee requirements for registrants (PA 

25-115, §§ 13, 14 & 20, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Private Student Loan Lenders and Servicers 

The omnibus banking act (1) codifies the $900 registration and renewal fee amounts private 

education lenders and private education loan creditors currently must pay NMLS; (2) extends the 

law’s requirements for private student education loan servicers to private education lenders, 

private education loan creditors, and any other person servicing a private student education loan; 

and (3) authorizes the DOB commissioner to bar violators of the laws governing these lenders and 

creditors from engaging in any banking activity for up to 10 years instead of just from acting as a 

lender or creditor. 

 

Among other changes, the act also adds a requirement that anyone making or extending a private 

student education loan on or after October 1, 2025, give options for cosigner release if certain 

criteria are met, such as the borrower making 12 consecutive on-time payments or the cosigner 

becoming totally and permanently disabled (PA 25-115, §§ 15, 19 & 24, effective October 1, 

2025). 

 

Securities Professionals 

The legislature passed three changes to DOB’s oversight under the state’s securities laws. First, it 

expanded DOB’s enforcement authority over broker-dealers, broker-dealer agents, investment 

advisors, and investment advisor agents by allowing it to censure or impose a bar for the same 

reasons it may deny, suspend, or revoke a registration or limit securities or investment advisory 

activities. It also requires issuers proposing to offer or sell in a Tier 2 offering to file a notice of filing 

with DOB and pay a filing fee. Lastly, there is a new registration exemption for merger and 

acquisition broker-dealers which parallels a federal exemption (PA 25-85, effective upon passage). 

 

Money Transmission and Virtual Currency 

Government Use of Virtual Currency 

This session, the legislature enacted a new law that prohibits Connecticut and its political 

subdivisions from (1) accepting or requiring payment in the form of virtual currency or (2) 

purchasing, holding, investing in, or establishing a virtual currency reserve (PA 25-66, § 5, effective 

October 1, 2025). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=HB06875&which_year=2025
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=66
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Minors’ Access to Money Sharing Applications 

New legislation regulates minors’ access to certain money sharing applications by imposing 

restrictions and duties on people who are or must be licensed as money transmitters under the 

state’s Money Transmission Act. Generally, it prohibits these licensees from allowing anyone to 

sponsor, open, or establish a money sharing application account for a minor unless they (1) receive 

an attestation from the person stating that he or she is the minor’s parent or legal guardian and (2) 

either receive a copy of the person’s valid government-issued identification or verify the person’s 

identity following certain standards. The act also requires, with exceptions, licensees to delete a 

minor’s money sharing application account within 30 business days after receiving a request to do 

so from the minor or the minor’s parent or legal guardian (PA 25-66, § 7, effective October 1, 

2025). 

 

Virtual Currency Forfeiture 

An act passed this session establishes a new process for state forfeiture of virtual currency and 

virtual currency wallets possessed, controlled, designed, or used to commit larceny or that are 

proceeds of a larceny. It requires the forfeited currency and wallets to be used to compensate 

victims with money-related loss from the involved crime. Among other things, this act also explicitly 

includes virtual currency and virtual currency wallets in the property subject to existing laws on (1) 

issuing a search warrant or seizing property associated with an arrest or under a search warrant 

and (2) forfeiting property related to drug and money laundering, identity theft, and sexual 

exploitation, prostitution, and human trafficking crimes. For the currency or wallet forfeiture as part 

of those crimes, the act allows the court to order that notice about the proceeding be made by 

means other than certified or registered mail under certain circumstances (PA 25-41, effective July 

1, 2026). 

 

Virtual Currency Transmitter Responsibilities 

New legislation imposes several virtual currency-related requirements and restrictions on people 

who must be licensed as money transmitters. Generally, the new act: 

1. prohibits licensees who control other people’s virtual currency from, generally, selling or 

transferring it without the person’s authorization, or using a virtual currency control services 

vendor or other person to store or hold custody of the virtual currency unless they are 

qualified to do so; 

2. specifies that virtual currency held by licensees is a property interest of any claimants 

against it on a proportional basis; and 

3. extends several existing disclosure and receipt requirements for virtual currency kiosk 

owners and operators to licensees that engage in the money transmission business in 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=66
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=6990
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Connecticut by receiving, transmitting, storing, or maintaining custody or control of virtual 

currency (PA 25-66, §§ 1-4, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Mortgages and Real Property 

Flood Risk Disclosures 

A provision in a new law requires financial institutions to give mortgage applicants, by 10 days 

before the mortgage closing date, certain information about flood damage risk and flood insurance 

coverage. This notice must be signed and dated by the applicant, and the institution must keep a 

copy of it with the applicant’s mortgage records (PA 25-33, § 2, effective July 1, 2026). 

 

Home Building Loan Program 

Provisions in the annual bond act (1) require the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority (CHFA) to 

administer a loan program (“Homes for CT”) that helps property owners and developers get funding 

to build new residential buildings and (2) authorize up to $20 million in new state general obligation 

bonds for FYs 26 and 27 for the program ($10 million each year). Under the act, CHFA must 

guarantee loan repayment, up to certain thresholds, for participating banks and credit unions that 

give loans to program borrowers. The act caps the total amount of (1) program loans at $100 

million and (2) claims paid to honor loan guarantees at $10 million. It also allows CHFA, within 

available resources, to make additional subordinate loans (PA 25-174, §§ 13, 32 & 124-130, most 

provisions effective upon passage). 

 

Invalidating Unreleased Mortgages 

A provision in a new law reduces, from 20 to 10 years, the time after which an unreleased 

mortgage is deemed invalid under certain circumstances. This occurs when there is an unreleased 

mortgage on the land records and the mortgagor or current landowner has had undisputed 

possession for at least this term of years after the mortgage should have been paid off. The person 

in possession must file an affidavit that meets certain conditions, but a mortgage holder may 

record a notice before this time expires to extend the period for another 10 years (PA 25-46, § 2, 

effective January 1, 2026). 

 

Shared Appreciation Agreement Disclosures  

The legislature established written disclosure requirements for shared appreciation agreements, 

which are residential loans in which the lender receives an interest in the appreciated value of the 

property. The disclosures include, among other things, an informational statement, the agreement 

and transaction details, the method of determining the property’s fair market value, the interest 

charged, and repayment examples. Under the new act, mortgage lenders who must be licensed 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=66
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=33
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7288
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=1336
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under the state’s banking laws and who offer to make a shared appreciation agreement, must give 

the disclosures within three business days after the prospective borrower applies for it (PA 25-115, 

§ 25, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Statute of Limitations for Mortgage Foreclosures 

A new law establishes a 10-year statute of limitations for bringing foreclosure action on certain 

mortgages for a one-to-four family dwelling that the borrower uses as his or her home. The bar is 

generally 10 years after the last payment due date, maturity date, or the last payment made by or 

on the borrower’s behalf. The deadline to bring the action may be extended by written agreement or 

if, during the last two years of the 10-year period, a law, rule, or order prevents it from being 

brought. Mortgages exempt from the statute of limitations are those (1) recorded before 2026 and 

first in priority when recorded or (2) subordinate when recorded but still held by the original lender 

or a subsidiary, affiliate, or successor (PA 25-46, § 1, effective January 1, 2026). 

 

Validating Recorded Documents 

The legislature statutorily extended the law’s validation of recorded real property documents with 

certain defects or omissions to documents recorded before January 2, 1997. This validation 

generally applies to deeds, mortgages, leases, powers of attorney (POAs), releases, assignments, 

and certain other real property documents. Examples of defects covered by the validation rule are 

improper attestations, incorrect or missing dates, and failures to reference recorded POAs or post a 

required bond (PA 25-136, effective July 1, 2025).  

 

Uniform Commercial Code 

This session, the legislature passed a law making numerous changes to the Uniform Commercial 

Code (UCC), which is a set of rules governing commercial transactions, like the sale of goods, 

leases, bank deposits, and secured transactions. This new law adds an article on digital assets 

(Article 12) and makes corresponding changes to other articles to set rules for transactions 

involving these assets related to negotiability, transfer and payment rights, and secured lending. 

The UCC revisions also, among other things: 

1. establish rules for hybrid transactions under the UCC’s sale or lease of goods provisions;  

2. specifically allow for negotiable instruments to have image and other information 

transmitted as an electronic check and funds transfers to have symbols, sounds, and 

biometrics as a security procedure; and 

3. redefine terms that apply to paper transactions so that they also cover electronic documents 

(PA 25-145, effective January 1, 2026). 

KLM:co 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=115
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=1336
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=136
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=6970

