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Notice to Readers 

This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts) significantly affecting taxes enacted 

during the 2025 regular legislative session. OLR’s other Acts Affecting reports, including Acts 

Affecting Business and Jobs, are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website. 

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) number. Not all provisions of the acts are included. The 

report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. Complete summaries of public 

acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website. 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the General 

Assembly’s website or the Connecticut State Library. 

  

Cover image by Ifikharalam from Vecteezy.com and Canva.com 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp
https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp
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Business Taxes 

Corporation Business Tax Surcharge Extended 

The FY 26-27 budget and implementer act extends the 10% corporation business tax surcharge for 

three additional years, to the 2026 through 2028 income years. However, under the act, the 

surcharge that applies to the capital base tax component of the corporation business tax applies 

only for the 2026 and 2027 income years because the tax is scheduled to be eliminated starting in 

2028 (PA 25-168, §§ 356 & 357, effective upon passage). 

 

Elimination of the Cap on a Combined Group’s Tax Liability on a 

Unitary Basis 

Starting with the 2025 income year, a new law eliminates the $2.5 million cap on the amount a 

combined group’s tax, calculated on a combined unitary basis, can exceed the tax it would have 

paid on a separate basis. It also temporarily exempts corporation business taxpayers from interest 

on underpayments of estimated tax for income years starting on or after January 1, 2025, but 

before June 30, 2025, for any additional tax due as a result of this change (PA 25-168, §§ 354 & 

355, effective upon passage). 

 

Net Deferred Tax Liability Deduction Modified 

Existing law allows certain combined groups, beginning with the 2026 income year, to take a 

corporation business tax deduction to offset certain balance sheet adjustments that resulted from 

the state’s shift to combined reporting. The deduction is for 30 years and equals 1/30th of the 

amount necessary to offset the increase in their “valuation allowance” against net operating losses 

and tax credits in Connecticut. New legislation requires the increase in valuation allowance to be 

calculated based on the change reported in the combined group’s financial statements for the 

2015 income year, rather than the 2016 income year as prior law required (PA 25-168, § 392, 

effective upon passage). 

 

Net Operating Loss Deduction for Certain Combined Groups 

Eliminated 

A new law eliminates an alternative net operating loss (NOL) deduction rule that previously applied 

to certain combined groups that had more than $6 billion in NOLs from pre-2013 tax years, 

subjecting them to the standard NOL carry forward limitation applicable to other corporations. The 

new law also temporarily exempts corporation business taxpayers from interest on underpayments 

of estimated tax for income years starting on or after January 1, 2025, but before June 30, 2025, 

for any additional tax due as a result of this change (PA 25-168, §§ 353 & 355, effective upon 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287


 

2025-R-0093 July 31, 2025 Page 6 of 20 
 

passage; the NOL deduction provision applies to income years beginning on or after January 1, 

2025). 

 

Income Tax 

CHET Program Changes 

New legislation makes a number of changes to the Connecticut Higher Education Trust (CHET) 

program statutes, including (1) aligning the program’s definitions with federal law and current 

practice; (2) explicitly allowing CHET account owners to make federally tax-exempt rollover 

distributions from their CHET accounts; and (3) eliminating the ability for taxpayers to contribute 

any portion of their state income tax refund to the Baby Scholars Fund and instead allowing them to 

contribute their refunds to the Connecticut Baby Bonds Trust (PA 25-168, §§ 375-383, effective 

July 1, 2025). 

 

Earned Income Tax Credit Increased for Certain Filers 

Connecticut residents who qualify for, and claim, the federal earned income tax credit (EITC) may 

claim a refundable state EITC equal to 40% of the federal credit for the same tax year. The FY 26-

27 budget and implementer act increases the credit’s amount by $250 for eligible taxpayers with at 

least one qualifying child for federal income tax purposes (PA 25-168, § 371, effective upon 

passage and applicable to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2025). 

 

New Credit for Family Child Care Homes  

Under a new law, taxpayers who own a state-licensed family child care home can receive a 

refundable income tax credit equal to $500. The credit applies against the personal income tax, but 

not the withholding tax (PA 25-168, § 372, effective January 1, 2026, and applicable to tax years 

starting on or after that date). 

 

Tax Credit for Successfully Challenging Income Taxes Imposed by 

Other Jurisdictions 

New legislation creates an income tax credit for Connecticut residents who successfully challenge 

another state, political subdivision, or the District of Columbia for taxing their income earned in 

Connecticut and denying them a refund on those taxes. Generally, the credit equals 60% of the 

amount of the Connecticut taxes owed because of the resulting adjustment to the credit the 

taxpayer received for taxes paid to the other jurisdiction. Additionally, the act exempts late income 

tax payments from penalties and interest if, among other things, they result from the taxpayer 

receiving a refund from another jurisdiction due to its “convenience of the employer rule.” Under 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
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the act, these provisions apply to tax years that began on or after January 1, 2020 (PA 25-172, § 2, 

effective upon passage). 

 

Withholding for Certain Retirement Income Distributions 

A new law suspends the income tax withholding requirement on lump sum distributions from 

pensions, annuities, and other specified sources from July 1, 2025, through December 31, 2026. 

But it requires payers (e.g., retirement plan servicers) to withhold taxes from these distributions if 

the payee has requested it.  

 

By law, a “lump sum distribution” is a payment greater than $5,000 or more than 50% of the 

payee’s entire account balance, whichever is less, subject to certain exclusions. Since January 1, 

2025, income tax withholding has been required for other (non-lump sum) distributions from 

pensions, annuities, and other specified sources only if the payee requests it (PA 25-168, § 401, 

effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Other State Taxes 

Definition of Cigarettes Under the Cigarette Tax Law 

This session, the legislature modified the definition of “cigarette” under the cigarette tax law to (1) 

generally align it with the definition in the tobacco master settlement agreement law (the 1998 

agreement between Connecticut and leading tobacco companies) and (2) explicitly include any roll, 

stick, or capsule of tobacco, regardless of its shape or size, that is generally intended to be heated. 

By modifying the definition of cigarette for purposes of the cigarette tax, the bill potentially expands 

the products subject to this tax and also potentially expands the distributors, retailers, and 

manufacturers subject to the existing laws and restrictions on selling cigarettes in Connecticut (PA 

25-168, § 394, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Dues Tax Threshold Increased 

A new law increases the threshold for annual dues and initiation fees that are exempt from the 

state’s 10% dues tax, from $100 or less to $250 or less. By law, the dues tax generally applies to 

amounts paid as dues or initiation fees to any social, athletic, or sporting club (i.e. organizations 

owned, operated, or owned and operated by members) (PA 25-168, § 370, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Hospital Provider Tax Changes 

The FY 26-27 budget and implementer act makes several changes to the hospital provider tax that 

take effect beginning in FY 27. Specifically, the act: 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=172
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
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1. requires the base year on which the tax is calculated to be tied to an applicable federal 

fiscal year, rather than state FY 16, and makes various corresponding changes;  

2. increases, by $375 million, the total revenue on which the tax on outpatient hospital 

services is calculated and requires the starting amount used to calculate the tax in later 

years to be increased by $25 million over the prior fiscal year;  

3. requires the Department of Social Services commissioner to seek approval from the federal 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to remove the exemption for children’s 

general hospitals; and 

4. makes other administrative changes to the tax (PA 25-168, §§ 360 & 361, effective July 1, 

2026, and applicable to calendar quarters beginning on or after that date). 

 

Tax on Nursing Homes and Intermediate Care Facilities 

New legislation terminates the quarterly user fee on nursing homes and intermediate care facilities 

for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICFs) as of July 1, 2026, and instead imposes a 

quarterly 6% tax on their revenue. Under the act, this tax will cease to apply if CMS determines that 

it is an impermissible tax under federal law. If CMS issues this determination, the nursing home 

and ICF user fees are reinstated and apply starting with the calendar quarter during which the 

determination was made. The act also makes other related and conforming changes (PA 25-168, 

§§ 359, 361, 363 & 364, effective July 1, 2026; provisions concerning the facilities’ quarterly 

returns and payment extensions apply to calendar quarters starting on or after that date). 

 

Property Tax and Other Local Taxes 

100% P&T Veteran Property Tax Exemption  

Last year, the legislature fully exempted from property tax a primary dwelling or motor vehicle for 

each former member of the armed services (i.e. veteran) who has a service-connected permanent 

and total disability rating (often referred to as “P&T rating”) from the U.S. Department of Veterans 

Affairs (U.S. DVA). This year, the legislature specified that a veteran qualifies for the exemption if he 

or she is determined by the U.S. DVA to be permanently and totally disabled based on a 100% 

service-connected disability rating. Relatedly, it allowed municipalities that had already published 

their 2024 grand lists to reflect this change and make other corresponding changes to their FY 26 

budgets and tax levies (PA 25-2, §§ 4-6, effective upon passage and the exemption provisions are 

applicable to assessment years commencing on or after October 1, 2024). 

 

The legislature made several additional changes to this exemption which include, among others, (1) 

authorizing municipalities to expand or limit the exemption in specified ways; (2) limiting the 

exemption to the portion of the dwelling the veteran actually resides in; (3) explicitly excluding 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=2
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commercial and rental properties; (4) generally expanding it to cover mobile homes, dwellings 

possessed as tenants for life, certain leased property, and property held in trust for qualifying 

veterans; (5) establishing specific documentation and verification requirements; (6) making it 

portable to other municipalities like the other veteran-related property tax exemptions; and (7) 

explicitly requiring veterans to disclose if their disability rating changes (PA 25-168, §§ 233-239, 

effective October 1, 2025, and applicable to assessment years starting on or after that date). 

 

Certificates of Correction for Property Tax Errors  

By law, assessors may issue certificates of correction to fix property tax assessment errors when (1) 

a clerical omission or mistake was made (e.g., a mathematical error) or (2) the assessor determines 

tangible personal property was taxed that should not have been (e.g., the taxpayer listed the 

property on his or her personal property declaration, but it belonged to someone else). New 

legislation allows municipalities to adopt ordinances extending the time, from three years to four 

years after the taxes were due, during which assessors may issue these corrections and taxpayers 

may claim any resulting refunds (PA 25-73, §§ 3-5, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Exemption Deadline Waivers 

Under a new law, taxpayers in six municipalities (Berlin, Canton, Manchester, Milford, New Haven, 

and Newington) may now claim a property tax exemption for machinery and equipment used for 

manufacturing, biotechnology, and recycling for specified grand lists even though they missed the 

filing deadline. Among other things, these taxpayers must file for the exemption by July 31, 2025, 

and pay the statutory late filing fee (PA 25-175, §§ 8-14, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Exemption for Capital Region Development Authority Property 

A law passed this session exempts any land and improvements the Capital Region Development 

Authority owns or leases from any taxes or assessments levied by any municipality, political 

subdivision, or special taxing district. Correspondingly, the new law deems these properties as 

state-owned properties for which, unless they are otherwise exempt from taxation, the state must 

make payment in lieu of taxes (PILOT) grants to the municipalities in which they are located (PA 25-

168, § 126, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Exemption for Class I Renewable Energy Sources 

Starting with the 2025 assessment year, new legislation creates a property tax exemption for Class 

I renewable energy sources that consist of equipment and devices that primarily collect solar 

energy and generate energy by photovoltaic effect. The act limits this exemption by applying it only 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=6957
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=175
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
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to equipment and devices with the primary purpose of generating electricity and not to any real 

property where the equipment or devices are located or installed.  

 

Relatedly, the act applies this same limitation to an existing property tax exemption for Class I 

renewable energy sources (other than nuclear power generating facilities) (1) installed on or after 

January 1, 2014; (2) for commercial or industrial purposes; and (3) with a nameplate capacity that 

does not exceed the location’s load or, if the facility is participating in virtual net metering, the 

aggregated load of its beneficial accounts (PA 25-173, § 58, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Exemption for Property on Reservation Land 

Beginning with the 2026 assessment year, a new law establishes a property tax exemption for real 

property and tangible personal property located on reservation land that is held in trust for a 

federally recognized Indian tribe. The exemption applies regardless of ownership (i.e. it applies to 

Indian and non-Indian owned property) and is in addition to existing exemptions specifically for (1) 

reservation land held in trust by the state and (2) motor vehicles owned by tribal members or their 

spouses and garaged on the tribe’s reservation (PA 25-168, § 434, as amended by PA 25-174, § 

204; effective October 1, 2026, and applicable to assessment years starting on or after that date). 

 

Farm Machinery Exemption 

This session, the legislature increased, from $100,000 to $250,000 in assessed value, the 

mandatory property tax exemption for farm machinery, other than motor vehicles. As under existing 

law, municipalities may exempt up to an additional $250,000 in assessed value for farm machinery 

by local option (PA 25-168, § 455, and PA 25-152, § 6; effective October 1, 2025, and applicable 

to assessment years beginning on or after that date). 

 

Foreclosure and Assignment of Liens for Delinquent Sewer 

Assessments and Charges 

A new law generally limits the foreclosure and assignment of liens for delinquent sewer 

assessments and charges on owner-occupied real estate by municipal and regional sewer or water 

pollution control authorities. But the act’s restrictions do not apply to sewer lien (1) foreclosures if 

they are foreclosed in an action involving tax or other municipal liens and (2) assignments if tax or 

other municipal liens on the property are currently assigned or are being assigned at the same 

time. Additionally, the restrictions do not apply if a lien’s principal amount exceeds $3,000 or three 

years have passed since the lien was filed and it remains unpaid (PA 25-150, effective October 1, 

2025, and applicable to actions filed on or after that date). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=173
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=HB07287&which_year=2025
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7288
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=152
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=150
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Local Option Homestead Property Tax Exemption 

 A 2024 law authorized municipalities to exempt between 5% and 35% of the assessed value of 

owner-occupied single-family homes and duplexes, including condominiums and common interest 

community units. New legislation allows municipalities that adopt this local option homestead 

exemption to limit its eligibility by (1) capping the assessed value of qualifying dwellings; (2) 

requiring owners to have lived in the property for a specified period of time to qualify; or (3) 

implementing both (PA 25-168, § 393, effective upon passage). 

 

Municipal Option Veteran Property Tax Exemptions 

The FY 26-27 budget and implementer act establishes two new municipal-option veteran-related 

property tax exemptions that provide similar benefits as the 100% P&T exemption (see above). 

Specifically, exemptions for (1) surviving spouses of active duty servicemembers killed in the line of 

duty and (2) state residents determined by U.S. DVA to have a service-connected total disability 

based on individual unemployability rating. Municipalities may choose to limit or expand these 

exemptions by (1) exempting up to two acres of the dwelling lot; (2) extending them to certain 

eligible surviving spouses of qualifying veterans who died before the exemption took effect; or (3) 

limiting the exemption amount based on the median assessed value of residential property in the 

municipality (PA 25-168, §§ 234, 237 & 240-242, generally effective October 1, 2025).  

 

Municipal Spending Cap Suspension  

Existing law generally requires the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) to reduce a 

municipality’s municipal revenue sharing grant if its expenditures exceed the statutory spending 

cap. By law, the spending cap is the greater of the inflation rate or 2.5% of the prior fiscal year’s 

adopted budget expenditures. For FY 26, a new law prohibits OPM from reducing the grants when 

the cap is exceeded (PA 25-3, § 2, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Municipal Tax Lien Assignment 

The law generally gives an assignee of a municipal tax lien for unpaid taxes the same powers and 

rights as the municipality in terms of the lien’s priority, interest accrual, and the fees and expenses 

of collection and to prepare and record the assignment. New legislation, however, prohibits the 

assignee from imposing post-charge-off charges or fees for collection costs. The act also, among 

other things, treats these assignees as consumer collection agencies, subjecting them to banking 

department requirements for these agencies (PA 25-168, §§ 446-448, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=3
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=168
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Municipal Uniform Solar Capacity Tax 

A new law establishes a municipal uniform solar capacity tax of $10,000 per MW of nameplate 

capacity on certain solar photovoltaic systems that are over one MW in size and receive permission 

to operate from an electric distribution company or a municipal electric utility on or after July 1, 

2026. The tax does not apply to systems (1) at specific locations (e.g., on state-owned land, 

brownfields, or residential rooftops) or (2) that are part of a microgrid serving a critical facility (e.g., 

hospitals, police stations, or commercial areas).  

 

Generally, the tax applies for 20 years, but municipalities may enter agreements to stabilize or 

freeze it. Among other things, the act designates revenue from the tax as municipal revenue and 

sets an appeal process (PA 25-173, § 57, effective July 1, 2026). 

 

Optional Alternative Motor Vehicle Depreciation Schedule 

Under an existing law, motor vehicles are generally valued for property tax purposes based on their 

manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP), which is then reduced according to a 20-year 

depreciation schedule. New legislation passed this session provides an alternative depreciation 

schedule that municipalities may adopt. The modified schedule generally increases, by five 

percentage points, the portion of a vehicle’s MSRP that is subject to property tax. 

 

For municipalities that adopt this alternative depreciation schedule, the legislation also generally 

authorizes them to adjust their grand lists to reflect this change and to make other corresponding 

changes to their FY 26 budgets and tax levies (PA 25-2, §§ 2 & 3, effective upon passage and the 

provision on the depreciation schedule is applicable to assessment years beginning on and after 

October 1, 2024).  

 

Port Eastside and Park City Landing Infrastructure Improvement 

Districts 

This session, the legislature authorized two special taxing districts to provide services and finance 

infrastructure improvements in designated areas: the Port Eastside Infrastructure Improvement 

District in East Hartford and the Park City Landing Infrastructure Improvement District in Bridgeport. 

The act delineates each district’s geographic boundaries and formation process, each of which is 

similar to the one for establishing special taxing districts under the statutes. It authorizes the 

districts to levy taxes, charges, and benefit assessments and, after entering into an interlocal 

agreement with their respective municipalities, issue and secure bonds backed by these revenues 

and their full faith and credit.  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=173
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The act exempts the districts’ revenues and real and personal property used for public purposes 

from state and municipal taxes and benefit assessments. It also exempts the principal and interest 

on their bonds from taxes except state estate and gift, franchise, and excise taxes (PA 25-90, 

effective upon passage). 

 

Revaluation Delays 

This session, the legislature authorized Newington and Trumbull to delay a revaluation scheduled 

for 2025 until the 2026 assessment year if their legislative bodies approve the delay. If either town 

opts to do so, it must implement its next revaluation according to the schedule it was following prior 

to the delay (PA 25-175, §§ 15 & 16, effective upon passage). 

 

South Meadows Site 

New legislation makes several changes related to the “South Meadows site,” which encompasses 

two Hartford properties located at 300 Maxim Road and 100 Reserve Road and contains closed 

resource recovery and jet turbine facilities. Among other things, the act exempts the site and any 

personal property located there from property tax until a development or redevelopment project is 

started there and requires the state to include the site as a basis for any state PILOT grant to 

Hartford for PILOTs made on or after June 30, 2025, until the site is redeveloped (PA 25-168, §§ 

435-442 & 456, and PA 25-174, §§ 228-232, effective June 30, 2025). 

 

Sales and Use Tax 

Ambulances 

This session, the legislature exempted the following vehicles from sales and use tax: (1) 

ambulance-type vehicles used exclusively to transport medically incapacitated individuals, except 

those used to transport these individuals for payment, and (2) ambulances operating under a 

license or certificate issued by the Department of Public Health (PA 25-168, § 368, effective July 1, 

2025, and applicable to sales occurring on or after that date). 

 

Certain Aircraft Industry Joint Ventures 

A new law extends, from 40 to 50 consecutive years, the duration of the sales tax exemption for 

specified business services rendered between participants in certain kinds of joint ventures in the 

aircraft industry that existed before January 1, 1986. By law, the exemption for all other qualifying 

joint ventures is for 20 consecutive years from the date the joint venture is formed, incorporated, or 

organized (PA 25-168, § 369, effective July 1, 2025). 
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Precious Metals and Rare or Antique Coins 

New legislation modifies the current sales and use tax exemption on certain sales of rare or antique 

coins, gold or silver bullion, and gold or silver legal tender of any nation, traded according to their 

value as precious metals by (1) applying it to all sales, instead of just those valued at $1,000 or 

more; (2) extending it to sales of palladium bullion and platinum; and (3) limiting the gold and silver 

bullion exemption to those with a purity level of at least 90% (PA 25-168, § 444, effective July 1, 

2027, and applicable to sales occurring on or after that date). 

 

Tax Administration and Enforcement  

Cigarette Dealer Licenses and Renewals 

Existing law allows municipalities to adopt ordinances requiring anyone applying to renew a 

cigarette dealer’s license with the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) to simultaneously give 

written notice of the application to the municipality’s chief law enforcement official or his or her 

designee. New legislation requires, rather than allows, the official or designee to send written 

comments on the application to the DRS commissioner within 15 days after receiving the notice. It 

also requires the DRS commissioner to provide a detailed, written response to these comments 

before approving or denying the application. The same legislation also expands the types of 

objections town residents may file with DRS on the suitability of a cigarette dealer’s proposed or 

current business location to include issues controlled by local zoning (PA 25-166, §§ 1 & 2, 

effective July 1, 2025). 

 

E-Cigarette Shipping and Transporting Restrictions  

A new law places restrictions on in-state shipping and transporting of e-cigarettes that are similar to 

those in law for cigarettes and makes a first violation of these provisions a class B misdemeanor 

and subsequent violations a class A misdemeanor. It also authorizes the DRS commissioner to 

impose a maximum civil penalty of $10,000 for each violation, where each shipment or transport is 

a separate offense (PA 25-168, § 395, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

After several months, separate new legislation repeals the other law’s provisions and replaces them 

with substantially similar ones. However, it subjects violators to different penalties, including 

removing the criminal penalties, and makes violations an unfair trade practice under the 

Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act (PA 25-166, §§ 5, 6, 44 & 45, effective October 1, 2025). 

 

Pilot Program to Collect Certain Delinquent State Taxes 

Under a new law, the OPM secretary and DRS commissioner must set up a pilot program to collect 

unpaid state taxes, penalties, and interest due from anyone receiving payments from a state 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=168
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agency (i.e. any state department, board, council, commission, institution, or other state executive 

branch agency). They must (1) design the program to minimize the administrative burdens on DRS 

and other state agencies and (2) present it to the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee by 

January 1, 2026 (PA 25-168, § 397, effective upon passage). 

 

Price Caps on Identified Prescription Drugs and Penalties for 

Violations 

New legislation (1) caps the price at which pharmaceutical manufacturers and wholesale 

distributors may sell identified prescription drugs (e.g., generic drugs) in the state; (2) generally 

imposes a civil penalty on violators; (3) requires the DRS commissioner to impose, calculate, and 

collect the penalty on a calendar year basis; and (4) creates a process for penalty disputes. Under 

the act, the civil penalty is (1) excluded from Medicaid provider tax calculations, 

(2) cannot be waived by the Penalty Review Committee under existing law or any other applicable 

law, and (3) cannot be reduced by applying a tax credit. 

 

Starting by July 1, 2027, the act requires the DRS commissioner to (1) annually prepare a list of the 

pharmaceutical manufacturers and wholesale distributors that violated the identified prescription 

drug price cap-related provisions during the preceding calendar year and (2) make each annual list 

publicly available (PA 25-168, §§ 345-347, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Revenue Accrual 

Beginning in FY 26, a new law authorizes the state comptroller to record revenue from certain taxes 

received within five business days after July 31 as revenue for the preceding fiscal year. 

Specifically, it applies to the taxes on (1) tobacco products and (2) sales and transfers of a 

controlling interest in specific corporate entities. By law, the same revenue accrual rules apply to 

payments from other state taxes (PA 25-168, §§ 365 & 366, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Shellfish Tax Filings and Appeal Rights 

A new act requires the owner of shellfish grounds or a franchise within the state’s exclusive 

jurisdiction to certify to the agriculture commissioner that he or she completed all required 

business and shellfish-related state tax filings for the prior year. It also grants appeal rights to 

shellfish grounds owners and franchise holders aggrieved by any commissioner actions under the 

state law that allows the taxation of shellfish grounds. Appeals must be made to the Superior Court 

in the judicial district where the franchise or ground is located or the owner appealing resides (PA 

25-152, §§ 15 & 16, effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
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Tax Credits and Incentives 

CHET Contribution Tax Credit Established 

This session, the legislature established a new business tax credit for contributions employers 

make to a qualifying employee’s CHET account. The credit equals 25% of the employer’s 

contribution and is capped at $500 per employee per income or tax year. Taxpayers may apply the 

credit against the corporation business, insurance premiums, or personal income taxes (but not the 

withholding tax) (PA 25-168, § 374, effective July 1, 2025, and applicable to income and tax years 

starting on or after January 1, 2025). 

 

Digital Animation Tax Credit Repealed 

The legislature repealed the digital animation tax credit, which was previously available to eligible 

companies with in-state studio facilities and 200 or more in-state employees that incurred eligible 

production expenses and costs in Connecticut. No credits have been issued under this program 

since 2016 (PA 25-165, §§ 3 & 10-13, most provisions effective upon passage; PA 25-168, §§ 63-

66 & 68, effective upon passage). 

 

Exemptions From Nonrelocation Agreements Requirements 

Under existing law, the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) and 

Connecticut Innovations, Inc. (CI) generally must require nonrelocation agreements as a condition 

of any financial assistance they provide. A new law makes any tax credit programs administered by 

DECD or CI exempt from these nonrelocation agreement requirements (PA 25-165, § 7, effective 

July 1, 2025). 

 

Farm Investment Tax Credit Established 

During the 2025 session, the legislature created a new refundable business tax credit for farmers’ 

investments in eligible machinery, equipment, and buildings. The credit equals 20% of the amount 

a farmer spends or incurs on this eligible property and may be applied against the corporation 

business or personal income taxes. The act sets eligibility criteria for credit-eligible investments and 

requires farmers to derive a specified percentage of their total income from farming in order to 

qualify. It also requires all or part of the credit to be repaid under certain conditions for five years 

after the property is acquired (PA 25-168, § 373, and PA 25-152, § 5, effective January 1, 2026, 

and applicable to income and tax years beginning on or after that date). 
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Film and Digital Media Production and Film Infrastructure Tax 

Credit Program Changes 

The legislature made several administrative changes to the state’s tax credit programs for film and 

digital media production and film infrastructure. Specifically, a new law: 

1. exempts eligible production companies that produce an interactive website from the 

requirement that they conduct at least 50% of their principal photography days in 

Connecticut or incur at least 50% or at least $1 million of their post-production costs in the 

state in order to qualify for the film and digital media production tax credit; 

2. requires all eligible production companies to apply to DECD for a film and digital media 

production credit voucher within 90 days after completing an independent certification of 

their production costs, rather than within 90 days after incurring their last production 

expense;  

3. specifies that the administrative fee DECD charges to cover the department’s costs to 

analyze film and digital media and film infrastructure tax credit applications is 

nonrefundable; and  

4. allows, rather than requires as under prior law, DECD to adopt regulations to administer 

these film tax credit programs (PA 25-165, §§ 3 & 4, effective July 1, 2025; the film and 

digital media tax credit provisions apply to applications open or filed on or after that date). 

 

Housing Tax Credit Contribution Program Procedures 

This session, the legislature eliminated the requirement that the DRS commissioner approve the 

Connecticut Housing Finance Authority’s (CHFA) written procedures to implement the Housing Tax 

Credit Contribution program. By law, CHFA administers this program, which provides tax credits to 

businesses making cash contributions of at least $250 to nonprofits that develop, sponsor, or 

manage housing programs benefitting low- and moderate-income households. The law requires 

CHFA to adopt written procedures to implement the program, including a ranking system for 

awarding the tax credits (PA 25-168, § 398, effective upon passage). 

 

JobsCT Tax Rebate Program Application Preferences 

Legislation passed this session authorizes the DECD commissioner to give preference to JobsCT tax 

rebate program applications that (1) make significant investments in environmentally sustainable 

practices (e.g., zero-carbon energy and energy efficiency); (2) are in economic sectors such as 

renewable energy, energy efficiency, and zero-emission vehicles; or (3) are for farming operations 

that are sustainable from a climate perspective (PA 25-125, § 4, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=165
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7287
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=HB05004&which_year=2025


 

2025-R-0093 July 31, 2025 Page 18 of 20 
 

R&D and R&E Tax Credits for Qualifying LLCs 

Corporations that incur eligible research and development (R&D) spending in Connecticut may 

qualify for one of two state business tax credits, namely the R&D credit or research and 

experimental expenditures (R&E) credit. Under a new law, a single member limited liability company 

(LLC) that meets specified employment and industry parameters may also earn these credits for its 

eligible R&D spending and, in turn, its corporate owner may use the credits against its corporation 

business tax liability (PA 25-165, §§ 1 & 2, and PA 25-168, §§ 58 & 59, effective upon passage 

and applicable to income and tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2025). 

 

Refund Value of R&D and R&E Credits for Qualifying Small 

Biotechnology Companies 

A new law increases the cash refund a qualifying small biotechnology company may receive for 

R&D and R&E tax credits from 65% to 90% of the credit amount. By law, this refund is available to 

qualified small businesses that earn R&D and R&E tax credits for R&D expenditures but cannot use 

them because they have no corporation business tax liability (PA 25-168, § 358, effective July 1, 

2025, and applicable to income years beginning on or after January 1, 2025). 

 

UConn Tax Credit Incentive Program Established 

New legislation authorizes UConn to set up and administer a tax credit incentive program to 

promote and publicly recognize the university and its programs, services, and mission. The act 

creates a tax credit for amounts people, businesses, and entities pay UConn according to a written 

agreement with the university under this program. The credit equals 50% of the payments made for 

the tax or income year, as applicable, and is capped at $500,000 per taxpayer for each tax or 

income year. The act caps the total credits allowed for each calendar year at $5 million (PA 25-168, 

§§ 384 & 385, effective upon passage and applicable to tax and income years beginning on or 

after January 1, 2025). 

 

Workforce Housing Opportunity Tax Credit Rate 

Starting in the 2025 tax year, the law establishes a tax credit administered by the Department of 

Housing (DOH) for people and entities making cash contributions of at least $250 to eligible 

developers building or rehabilitating qualifying workforce housing opportunity development projects 

in federally designated opportunity zones. A new law sets this tax credit at 50% of eligible cash 

contributions, rather than an amount specified by the DOH commissioner as prior law required (PA 

25-168, § 97, effective upon passage, and applicable to income and tax years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2025). 
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Youth Development Organization Tax Credit  

Existing law allows a tax credit for the 2024 and 2025 income and tax years for cash contributions 

individuals and businesses make to eligible youth development organizations to fund programs like 

afterschool tutoring, mentoring, and workforce preparedness training. A new law limits the 

donations that qualify for this tax credit to those made to eligible organizations in Connecticut. 

Under prior law, donations made to any eligible nonprofit, regardless of where it was located, 

qualified for the credit (PA 25-168, § 54, effective upon passage, and applicable to applications 

filed on or after that date). 

 

Tax Studies 

Defending Connecticut Residents From Income Taxes Imposed by 

Other Jurisdictions 

A new law requires the attorney general to study specific steps his office, the governor’s office, and 

the General Assembly can take to defend Connecticut residents from having taxes imposed by 

another jurisdiction on income derived from services rendered while they were in Connecticut. By 

January 1, 2026, he must submit a report with findings and recommendations to the Finance, 

Revenue and Bonding Committee (PA 25-172, § 1, effective upon passage). 

 

DRS Tax Gap Report 

Prior law required DRS to annually estimate and analyze the state’s “tax gap,” develop a strategy to 

address it, and report certain information to the legislature. A new law delays the next required tax 

gap report by one year, from December 15, 2025, to December 15, 2026, and requires DRS to 

submit subsequent reports every two years, rather than annually (PA 25-168, § 387, effective upon 

passage). 

 

DRS Tax Incidence Report 

Existing law requires DRS to produce a biennial tax incidence report that provides, for the 10 most 

recent years for which complete data are available, the overall incidence of specified taxes. Starting 

with the report due in 2025, a new law limits, from every two years to every four years, the 

frequency with which the report must include incidence projections for the property tax and any 

other tax that generated $100 million or more in the fiscal year before the report’s submission. As 

under existing law, each biennial report must continue to include projections of the income tax, 

pass-through entity tax, sales and excise taxes, and corporation business tax (PA 25-168, § 388, 

effective upon passage). 
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Fiscal Accountability Reports 

This session, the legislature changed specified components of the annual legislative reports OPM 

and the Office of Fiscal Analysis must submit on revenue and spending estimates for the current 

biennium and the three following fiscal years, commonly known as the fiscal accountability reports. 

Among the changes, the new law requires the reports to include an analysis of the state’s 

preparedness for plausible recession scenarios, including (1) estimating the size of multiyear 

budget deficits from revenue declines and other contingencies and (2) assessing whether the 

Budget Reserve Fund and other state resources are enough to address these deficits. It also 

requires the reports to estimate the material and likely changes to nonfixed costs, in addition to 

spending changes due to fixed cost drivers, as existing law requires (PA 25-140, effective upon 

passage). 

 

Sourcing Revenue to Municipalities 

Under a new law, starting with FY 26, the DRS commissioner must track and record the source of 

state sales and use, personal income, and corporation business tax revenue to accurately and fairly 

attribute the revenue from each of these taxes to municipalities. He must determine the sourcing 

method for attributing this revenue to each municipality, subject to certain requirements.  

 

The new law also requires taxpayers paying these taxes to provide disaggregated information and 

any other data the commissioner requests to carry out these requirements. Annually, starting by 

October 31, 2026, the commissioner must post on DRS’s website a list of all municipalities and the 

amount of revenue from each of these taxes attributed to each one for the applicable fiscal year.  

(PA 25-168, § 391, effective upon passage). 

 

Veterans’ Property Tax Exemption Study 

The legislature passed a law this year requiring the state Department of Veterans Affairs to enter 

into a memorandum of understanding with UConn for their School of Public Policy to conduct a 

study on veteran property tax exemptions, including modifying the exemption amounts and income 

limits. By January 1, 2027, the law requires UConn to report its findings and recommendations for 

legislation to the Appropriations; Finance, Revenue and Bonding; Planning and Development; and 

Veterans’ and Military Affairs committees (PA 25-95, § 17, effective July 1, 2025). 
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