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Issue  

This report briefly describes the benefits that may be available, by law, to surviving family members 

of a volunteer firefighter killed in the line of duty. The benefits discussed below are in addition to 

any benefits that may be available through Social Security, or the firefighter’s other insurance and 

retirement coverage, as applicable. 

 

Federal Public Safety Officers’ Benefits 

A firefighter’s surviving family members may be eligible for cash benefits through the federal Public 

Safety Officers’ Benefits (PSOB) program, which provides death and education benefits to survivors 

of fallen firefighters and other first responders. The PSOB death benefit is $448,575.00 for eligible 

deaths occurring between October 1, 2024, and September 30, 2025. Education benefits are also 

available to the deceased’s spouse and children for up 45 months of fulltime education or training. 

Additional information about the program and how to file a claim is available here, here, and here. 

 

State Laws 

Fallen Hero Fund 

The Connecticut Fallen Hero Fund gives a lump sum death benefit totaling $100,000 to a surviving 

family member or beneficiary of a first responder killed in the line of duty or who sustained injuries 

that were the direct or proximate cause of the first responder’s death. This benefit payment is 
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exempt from the state income tax and must not be reduced or offset due to other benefits that may 

be awarded (e.g., workers’ compensation).  

 

Under the act that recently opened the fund to the surviving family members of emergency medical 

technicians (EMTs), firefighters, and paramedics, certain surviving family members who were 

covered by a municipal first responder’s health care benefit plan when the first responder died may 

also apply for or keep the coverage for one year after the death and then renew the coverage 

annually for up to five years (CGS § 3-122a, as amended by PA 25-61). The fund is administered by 

the Office of the State Comptroller. 

 

Fire Association Death Benefit 

By law, the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection commissioner must pay relief 

to the surviving spouse or child of a firefighter who was killed in the line of duty and a member of 

the Connecticut State Firefighters Association (CSFA) (CGS § 3-123). To obtain benefits, the 

association must submit adequate proof to the commissioner that the person is eligible. The 

benefits are set by the association but statutorily limited to available appropriations. (According to 

CSFA, as of May 2021 the maximum line-of-duty death benefit was $20,000.) The association’s line 

of duty death notification form is available here, and its claim form is available here. 

 

Health Insurance 

By law, the comptroller, with the attorney general and insurance commissioner’s approval, must 

arrange and procure state health insurance, including group hospitalization, medical, and surgical 

plan coverage for the surviving spouses and dependent children of firefighters who die from injuries 

received while on duty. To qualify for coverage under the law they must not be eligible for coverage 

under a different group hospitalization and medical and surgical insurance plan. A dependent 

child’s policy terminates when he or she receives coverage from an employer or turns 26, 

whichever happens first (CGS § 5-259(a)(6)). 

 

Property Tax Abatement 

State law authorizes municipalities to establish a program, by ordinance, to abate all or part of the 

property tax on the principal residence owned by the surviving spouse of a police officer, firefighter, 

or EMT killed in the line of duty (CGS § 12-81x). 

 

Tuition Waivers 

State law requires the community-technical colleges (renamed as Connecticut State Community 

College by PA 25-22), the Connecticut State University system, and UConn to waive tuition for the 
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dependent children of paid and volunteer firefighters killed in the line of duty (CGS §§ 10a-77(d), 

10a-99(d), & 10a-105(e)). 

 

Workers’ Compensation 

A surviving spouse or other eligible dependent may receive a weekly workers’ compensation benefit 

on behalf of a worker who dies from a work-related injury. The benefit is generally 75% of the 

deceased worker’s average weekly wage (after taxes) for the 52 weeks preceding the injury, up to a 

statutory maximum, with an annual cost-of-living adjustment. The surviving spouse qualifies for the 

benefits until death or remarriage, after which surviving dependent children generally receive the 

benefits until they turn age 18 or 22, depending on whether they attend school full-time (CGS §§ 

31-275(19) & 31-306(a)(2) & 7-314a(b)). For worker’s compensation purposes, the law (1) treats 

volunteer firefighters injured or killed in the line of duty as if they were an employee of their fire 

department’s municipality and (2) uses the statewide average production wage as the firefighter’s 

average weekly wage (CGS § 7-314a). 

 

The workers’ compensation law also provides an annually adjusted burial benefit for any individual 

who dies from a work-related injury (CGS § 31-306(a)(1)). For deaths occurring in 2025, the benefit 

is $14,371.23. 
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