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Issue  

Compare Connecticut and Massachusetts adult-use cannabis cultivator licensing laws and 

regulations. 

 

Summary 

This report provides a general overview of some of the requirements for cannabis (i.e. marijuana) 

cultivator licenses in Connecticut and cultivator and craft marijuana cooperative licenses in 

Massachusetts. Both states have similar requirements on operations and security, as well as 

product testing. Both states allow municipalities to decide if cultivators may operate within their 

jurisdiction, but Massachusetts requires the municipality to affirmatively agree to an applicant’s 

operations before they are approved by the state.  

 

A major difference between how Connecticut and Massachusetts license cannabis cultivators is 

that Massachusetts has multiple license categories based on grow space size and whether the 

cannabis is grown inside or outside. Massachusetts has 11 different license tiers with fees that 

vary significantly, ranging from $625 to $50,000. Although Connecticut has a separate micro-

cultivator license for operations that are less than 25,000 square feet, it only has one license 

category for all other cultivators, regardless of whether the cannabis is grown inside or outside. 

With a significant exception, described below, license fees to begin operations as a cultivator in 

Connecticut are set at approximately $100,000 (except for micro-cultivators, the fee is generally 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
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about $1,500). Both Connecticut and Massachusetts reduce fees for certain applicant classes 

(e.g., as part of social equity initiatives). 

 

Another difference is that Connecticut’s law outlines a lottery process for applicants, while 

Massachusetts does not cap the number of applicants or approved licenses. However, the 

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) has not held a lottery for cultivators. 

Instead, a separate, limited-duration licensing process for social equity applicants has generally 

been used which has limited the number of licensees. Additionally, this process requires these 

cultivator applicants to, among other things, pay a $3 million dollar fee to receive a license. 

 

Unlike Connecticut, Massachusetts also offers a “craft marijuana cooperative” license that allows 

groups of residents to form a co-op to cultivate, obtain, manufacture, process, package, and brand 

marijuana for delivery to marijuana establishments, but not to consumers. Notably, a collective is 

not limited to a particular number of cultivation locations (i.e. grow operations for the business can 

occur on non-contiguous parcels of land) but is limited to three locations for certain authorized 

activities involving product manufacturing. 

 

Connecticut 

Obtaining a Cultivator License  

Connecticut law requires anyone who cultivates, grows, or propagates cannabis at an 

establishment of at least 15,000 square feet to be licensed by DCP as a cultivator (CGS § 21a-

420n(b), as amended by PA 25-166, § 18). By law and policies and procedures, a cultivator 

establishment must have a total of between 15,000 and 250,000 square feet of combined indoor 

and outdoor cultivation (grow) space (CGS § 21a-420n, as amended by PA 25-166, § 18; -420q, as 

amended by PA 25-166, § 22, & PA 25-168, § 127; and DCP Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-

23). 

 

In addition to cultivating, growing, and propagating cannabis, cultivators may also label, 

manufacture, package, and perform extractions on any cannabis they cultivate, grow, or propagate 

at their licensed establishment (e.g., food and beverage products that incorporate cannabis and 

cannabis concentrates), if they meet all licensure and application requirements for food and 

beverage manufacturers and product manufacturers (CGS § 21a-420n(c), as amended by PA 25-

166).  

 

Application Process. Although the law allows for a lottery process, DCP has not held one for 

cultivators since cannabis was legalized under PA 21-1, June Special Session. Instead, under the 

same act, DCP opened a three-month application period for social equity applicants to apply for a 

https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420n
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420n
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420n
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420q
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=168
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420n
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
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provisional and final cultivator license for a cultivation facility located in a disproportionately 

impacted area (DIA) without participating in a lottery or request for proposals (CGS § 21a-420o, as 

amended by PA 25-166, § 19). To get a provisional license under this “DIA cultivator” process, the 

applicant must, among other things, pay a $3 million dollar fee. (For more information on the lottery 

process, see DCP’s website.) 

 

By law, the general lottery entry fee for a cultivator license is $1,000, a provisional license fee is 

$25,000, and the final or renewal license fee is $75,000, but social equity lottery applicants only 

have to pay 50% of these fees (CGS § 21a-420e, as amended by PA 25-166, § 13). 

 

Social Equity Cultivators 

This past session, PA 25-166 provided additional avenues for social equity applicants to cultivate 

cannabis outside DIAs. Under specified conditions, these avenues included allowing them to (1) 

locate their cultivation facility outside a DIA if they, among other things, employ a certain number of 

people from a DIA (§§ 16 & 19), or (2) lease hemp producer lots that are outside a DIA (§ 9). 

 

The same act also allows DCP to grant a final cultivator license to a social equity provisional 

cultivator license holder who has not developed the capability to meet the minimum 15,000 square 

feet of grow space for an additional two years (i.e. December 31, 2027) (§ 18). 

 

Conversion From Micro-cultivator 

The law allows a micro-cultivator to convert to a cultivator if it desires to expand to more than 

25,000 square feet of grow space (CGS § 21a-420p, as amended by PA 25-101 and PA 25-166). If 

a micro-cultivator maintains its license and meets all of the cultivator application and licensure 

requirements, including license fee payments, the micro-cultivator licensee must be granted a 

cultivator license. 

 

(Initially, a micro-cultivator has between 2,000 and 10,000 square feet of grow space but can 

annually apply to expand by up to 5,000 square feet, up to a maximum of 25,000 square feet of 

grow space. For a micro-cultivator license, the fee (1) to enter the lottery is $250; (2) for a 

provisional license is $500; and (3) for a final license or a renewal is $1,000 (CGS § 21a-420e, as 

amended by PA 25-166).) 

 

Physical Security Controls and Protocols 

In addition to general requirements for cannabis establishments, the policies and procedures 

specifically require cultivators, among other cannabis establishments, to have a security system to 

prevent and detect diversion, theft, and loss of cannabis using commercial grade equipment, which 

https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420o
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=7181
https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/knowledge-base/articles/lottery-process-for-license-applicants?language=en_US
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420e
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420p
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=HB06855&which_year=2025
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420e
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
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must, at a minimum, include a perimeter alarm, motion detector, video surveillance cameras, and 

an audible security alarm (CGS § 21a-420n(b)(1), as amended by PA 25-166, § 18, and DCP 

Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-7). 

 

Cultivators that have an outdoor cultivation space must maintain additional security and 

operational requirements for the operations, including a fence surrounding the perimeter of the 

outdoor operation and all points of ingress and egress must be illuminated, have video 

surveillance, and be secured by commercial-grade locks. 

 

The policies and procedures also require cultivators to maintain a log of each instance of an 

employee accessing a restricted area in which unpackaged cannabis is stored (DCP Policies & 

Procedures § 21a-421j-8(b)). 

 

Operations 

The policies and procedures generally require cultivators to conduct authorized activities at their 

establishments and prohibits them from dealing with other establishments differently, including 

discriminating in price, taking into consideration certain factors (DCP Policies & Procedures § 21a-

421j-23). 

 

Additionally, cultivators must, before beginning operations, conduct an initial comprehensive 

inventory of all cannabis at the establishment (DCP Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-4). Then they 

must establish ongoing inventory controls and procedures for conducting inventories that allow 

them to detect any diversion, theft, or loss in a timely manner. 

 

Cultivators are required to use a Cannabis Analytic Tracking System that tracks cannabis through a 

unique identifier from the point cannabis is propagated from seed or cutting, including through and 

to the point cannabis is acquired by an end-user or disposed of (i.e. seed-to-seed traceability 

system) (DCP Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-5). 

 

The policies and procedures also provide minimum requirements for storing and handling cannabis 

(DCP Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-24). This includes requiring cultivators to, among other 

things, ensure all applicable areas have adequate ventilation, temperature, sanitation, humidity, 

space, equipment, and security conditions for cannabis that generally meet federal food and drug 

building and facility standards (21 C.F.R. §§ 211.42-211.58). 

 

https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-420n
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-211?toc=1
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Product Testing and Registration 

By law, each cannabis establishment must submit cannabis samples from each batch to a 

cannabis testing laboratory for testing (CGS § 21a-408w). The laboratory must test each sample for 

(1) microbiological contaminants, mycotoxins, heavy metals, and pesticide chemical residue and (2) 

an active ingredient analysis, if applicable. Policies and procedures also prohibit a cannabis 

establishment from selling, transferring, or transporting cannabis for retail sale until it has received 

a certificate of analysis from a cannabis testing laboratory confirming satisfactory results (DCP 

Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-29). 

 

By law, cultivators must register brand names for cannabis (CGS § 21a-421j, as amended by PA 

25-166, § 29, & PA 25-168, § 164). They are prohibited from selling or providing cannabis to a 

consumer without a product name that has been registered with DCP or without final packaging 

that has had stability testing. In order to register with DCP, a cultivator must provide the test 

results; information about the ingredients and applicable processing techniques and solvents used; 

and a proposed product name. Among other things, product names cannot be identical or 

confusingly similar to existing non-cannabis product, an unlawful product, or a previously registered 

cannabis product (DCP Policies & Procedures § 21a-421j-30). 

 

Municipal Regulation  

For a cannabis establishment to operate, it must have zoning approval from local authorities. The 

law allows municipalities to amend their zoning regulations or enact local ordinances to take 

certain actions regarding cannabis establishments, including prohibiting their establishment (CGS § 

21a-422f, as amended by PA 25-166, § 35). The law requires municipal chief zoning officials to 

report any zoning changes to the Office of Policy and Management secretary and DCP within 14 

days after adopting the change.  

 

(For more information on which municipalities have a moratorium or prohibited cannabis 

establishments, see DCP’s website. Please note that the website does not specify if it is a total ban 

or only applies to specific cannabis establishment types.) 

 

Massachusetts 

Obtaining a Cultivator License  

Under Massachusetts law, a “marijuana cultivator” is an entity licensed to cultivate, process, and 

package marijuana and to deliver and transfer marijuana to marijuana establishments, but not to 

consumers (Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 94G, § 1). 

 

https://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420f.htm#sec_21a-408w
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-421j
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=168
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Search/getDocument?guid=E0A0C492-0000-C219-A56D-0EF1F5478D25
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-422f
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420h.htm#sec_21a-422f
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=166
https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/knowledge-base/articles/municipal-cannabis-zoning-changes-reported-to-dcp?language=en_US
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXV/Chapter94G/Section1
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Massachusetts law classifies cultivators into tiers based on their total canopy (i.e. grow space), with 

differing application and license fees depending on both operation size and where the marijuana is 

grown. There is a single licensing fee due as part of the provisional licensing process, and then 

again at renewal (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.005 & 500.050). Certain applicants are eligible for 

an application fee waiver or a 50% reduction of the annual license fee (e.g., certain social equity 

program participants, certain veteran businesses). Applicants apply to the Cannabis Control 

Commission (CCC) and are not subject to a lottery process or an overall cap on the maximum 

number of licenses approved by CCC. Applicants must generally have community buy-in before they 

apply (see host community agreement section, below). 

 

Table 1: Massachusetts Cultivator License Tiers 

License Type (Indoor or Outdoor) 
Application Fee 

Indoor (I)/Outdoor (O) 
License Fee 

Indoor (I)/Outdoor (O) 

Tier 1: Up to 5,000 square feet $200 (I)/$100 (O) $1,250 (I)/$625 (O) 

Tier 2: 5,001 - 10,000 sq. ft. 400 (I)/200 (O) 2,500 (I)/1,250 (O) 

Tier 3: 10,001 - 20,000 sq. ft. 600 (I)/300 (O) 5,000 (I)/2,500 (O) 

Tier 4: 20,001 - 30,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 20,000 (I)/10,000 (O) 

Tier 5: 30,001 - 40,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 22,500 (I)/11,250 (O) 

Tier 6: 40,001 - 50,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 25,000 (I)/12,500 (O) 

Tier 7: 50,001 - 60,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 30,000 (I)/15,000 (O) 

Tier 8: 60,001 - 70,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 35,000 (I)/17,500 (O) 

Tier 9: 70,001 - 80,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 40,000 (I)/20,000 (O) 

Tier 10: 80,001 - 90,000 sq. ft. 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 45,000 (I)/22,500 (O) 

Tier 11: 90,001 - 100,000 sq. ft 2,000 (I)/1,500 (O) 50,000 (I)/25,000 (O) 

 

Changing Tiers. The regulations allow cultivators to apply to CCC to change tier classifications, 

whether to increase or decrease production (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.050(c)(2)). If a cultivator 

applies to expand production, it must demonstrate that it is cultivating at the top of its productions 

tier and has sold 85% of its product consistently over the six months before the application (for 

indoor cultivation) or for the previous harvest season (for outdoor cultivation). (CCC may also assign 

a lower tier classification to cultivators that sell less than 70% of what is produced during the six 

months or previous harvest, as applicable, before a renewal application.) 

 

Craft Marijuana Cooperative 

A craft marijuana cooperative is a type of cultivator that may cultivate, obtain, manufacture, 

process, package, and brand marijuana to deliver it to marijuana establishments, but not to 

consumers (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.002). The cooperative must consist of Massachusetts 

https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
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residents who have formed a limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or cooperative 

corporation. 

 

The law limits a business to one license and prohibits cooperative members from having a 

controlling interest in any other marijuana establishment. Unlike a cultivator, a cooperative is not 

limited to a particular number of cultivation locations, it is limited to a total canopy of 100,000 

square feet. 

 

The fees for the craft marijuana cooperative license are based on canopy size (see Table 1 above) 

(935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.005 & 500.050). If the craft marijuana cooperative has more than six 

locations, then $200 per additional location for indoor cultivation operations and $100 per 

additional location for outdoor cultivation operations is added to the application fee, and $1,250 

per additional location for indoor operation and $625 per additional location for outdoor operations 

is added to the annual license fee. 

 

Physical Security Controls and Protocols 

As for all marijuana establishments, cultivators must implement sufficient security measures to 

deter theft, prevent unauthorized entrance to areas with marijuana, and ensure the safety of 

employees, consumers, and the general public (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.110). Cultivators must, 

among other things, limit access to those age 21 and older, have procedures on preventing 

loitering, secure entrances to prevent unauthorized access, and securely store all finished 

marijuana products. 

 

Cultivators must also have perimeter lighting and alarms, a failure notification system to notify 

designated employees when the security system is down, a panic alarm, and video cameras in 

certain areas (e.g., where marijuana or cash is held). 

 

Operations 

Massachusetts law requires every marijuana establishment to have and follow a detailed set of 

written operating procedures that include, among other things, employee security policies, 

description of the hours of operation, storage and waste disposal, the marijuana strains that will be 

cultivated, and a product price list (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.105). 

 

The regulations also set out requirements for, among other things, handling and storing marijuana, 

conducting inventories, and recordkeeping. For example, establishments must establish inventory 

controls and conduct both a monthly inventory and a comprehensive annual inventory of marijuana. 

 

https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
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Cultivator Specific Requirements. In addition to the general requirements for all marijuana 

establishments, cultivators must disclose to CCC all growing media and plant nutrients intended to 

be used during the cultivation process (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.120). The law generally limits 

authorized marijuana activities to designated areas away from the public and requires 

documentation of compliance with testing requirements. The law also requires the cultivation 

process to use best practices to limit contamination (e.g., mold, fungus, and bacterial diseases).  

 

The law also requires cultivators to meet minimum energy efficiency and equipment standards, 

among other things (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.120(11)).  

 

For a cultivator engaged in indoor cultivation, it must include a report of its annual energy and 

water usage with its renewal application (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.103). 

 

Product Testing  

Massachusetts law allows CCC to establish testing protocols for the sampling, testing, and analysis 

of marijuana, finished marijuana, and marijuana products (Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 94G, § 15). By 

law, the regulations must be based on the most recent standards as issued by the U.S. 

Pharmacopeial Convention and must address sampling and analysis to characterize the 

cannabinoid profile and biological and chemical contaminants. All marijuana must pass a test 

conducted by an independent testing laboratory before it may be sold or marketed in 

Massachusetts. The regulations further set out how the marijuana must be tested and additional 

contaminants that must be tested for (e.g., mold and mildew) (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.160).  

 

Municipal Regulation  

Massachusetts law allows a municipality to adopt ordinances to impose reasonable safeguards on 

the operation of marijuana establishments as long as they are not unreasonably impractical or in 

conflict with state law. The law specifically allows municipalities to (1) limit the number of marijuana 

establishments in their jurisdiction and (2) restrict cultivation, processing, and manufacturing that 

is a public nuisance (Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 94G, § 3).  

 

Host Community Agreements (HCAs). Massachusetts law allows municipalities to negotiate 

and enter into HCAs (935 Mass. Code Regs. 500.180). The HCA (1) identifies all stipulations and 

responsibilities of both the host community and the license applicant or establishment and (2) 

must include certain terms, such as the specific license operations allowed under the agreement, 

the duration, and the execution date. CCC requires license applicants to submit an HCA as part of 

their application. CCC must generally assess and certify these agreements before granting a 

license. (For more information on HCAs, see CCC’s website.) 

DC:co 

https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/935-cmr-500-adult-use-of-marijuana/download
https://masscannabiscontrol.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/241122-935-CMR-500-Adult-Use-Regulations.pdf
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXV/Chapter94G/Section15
https://masscannabiscontrol.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/241122-935-CMR-500-Adult-Use-Regulations.pdf
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXV/Chapter94g/Section3
https://masscannabiscontrol.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/241122-935-CMR-500-Adult-Use-Regulations.pdf
https://masscannabiscontrol.com/host-community-agreement/

