## OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH PUBLIC ACT SUMMARY



PA 25-138—sHB 7231 Environment Committee

## AN ACT AUTHORIZING SUNDAY HUNTING ON PRIVATE LANDS

**SUMMARY:** This act expands the ability to hunt on Sundays. Previously, the law generally only allowed the following on Sundays: deer hunting with bow and arrow on private property with the property owner's permission, shooting birds at private shooting preserves, and trapping.

The act generally allows Sunday hunting on private land with any approved hunting implements, except hunting migratory birds on Sunday remains prohibited (§ 2). A hunter must get and carry written permission from the private property owner to hunt there on Sunday. The act also specifically prohibits Sunday hunting within 40 yards of a blazed trail that is open to the public, including Connecticut blue blazed trails and federally designated and regulated trails. Relatedly, the act effectively requires the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) commissioner to develop regulations on hunting deer on private land on Sundays (§ 4).

The act also expands the law by allowing the following:

- 1. the DEEP commissioner to take (e.g., hunt or kill) wildlife on Sundays consistent with wildlife management principles (§ 1);
- 2. DEEP to authorize municipalities, homeowner associations, and nonprofit land-holding organizations to take deer on Sundays consistent with wildlife management principles if they show, to the DEEP commissioner's satisfaction in a plan they file with DEEP, that deer are a severe nuisance or are causing ecological damage (§ 3); and
- 3. the DEEP commissioner to authorize municipalities, homeowner associations, and nonprofit land-holding organizations to take resident Canadian geese on Sundays, consistent with wildlife management principles and a plan they file with DEEP (§ 5).

By law, generally no one can hunt in Connecticut without first getting the appropriate licenses and permits from DEEP. Hunters must also comply with the relevant hunting regulations, which address things like the allowed hunting season, reporting requirements, and bag limits.

Violations of the state's hunting laws carry a range of penalties depending on the specific statute violated. For example, illegally hunting on Sundays in violation of § 2 of the act is a class D misdemeanor (see <u>Table on Penalties</u>) (CGS § 26-81). And a person who takes deer without a permit in violation of § 4 of the act is subject to a fine between \$200 and \$500, up to 30 days in prison, or both for a first violation, and a fine between \$200 and \$1,000, up to one year of prison, or both for a subsequent violation (CGS § 26-86a(b)).

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2025