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AN ACT CONCERNING EARNED BUT UNPAID WAGE OR SALARY 

INCOME ADVANCES 

 

SUMMARY: Subject to several restrictions, this act exempts certain salary 

advances under $750 to Connecticut employees (i.e. “earned but unpaid wage or 

salary income advances”) from the small loan lending law’s annual percentage rate 

(APR) and finance charge requirements. In doing so, the act allows for these 

advances to exceed the law’s 36% APR cap, but it caps the total finance charge for 

them at (1) $4 per advance and (2) $30 per month.  

The act specifically applies to advances for wage, salary, compensation, or 

other income on an hourly, project-based, piecework, or other basis that borrowers 

earn for working for an employer or acting as an independent contractor for 

someone obligated to pay them for their services. 

Under the act, providers of these advances must, among other things, give 

borrowers certain disclosures and previous advance information, verify income, 

offer ways to receive no-cost advances, and reimburse certain banking fees. It 

prohibits them from taking certain actions, generally concerning fees or charges, 

borrower payments, and collection practices. 

Lastly, the act makes minor, technical, and conforming changes, including 

explicitly exempting a wage that an employer directly pays to an employee before 

a regular pay day from the small loan lending law’s scope. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2025 

 

EARNED BUT UNPAID WAGE OR SALARY ADVANCE PROVIDERS 

 

The state’s small loan lending law generally applies to loans, extensions of 

credit, or the purchase of, or an advance of money on, a borrower’s future source 

of money (e.g., future pay or salary) of up to $50,000 and with an APR exceeding 

12%. In calculating the APR, it includes charges and fees assessed to a borrower as 

part of the transaction (e.g., finance charges). 

The act exempts an earned but unpaid wage or salary income advance from the 

law’s provisions on APR and finance charges (e.g., the 36% cap), but imposes caps 

of $4 per transaction and $30 per month. This applies to an advance to a Connecticut 

borrower that is (1) less than $750 and (2) made by an earned but unpaid wage or 

salary income advance provider licensed under the small loan lending law. But the 

amount advanced cannot exceed the amount of unpaid income the consumer earned 

in a particular pay period. The act also prohibits people exempt from licensure from 

receiving payments on, acquiring, or advertising a small loan for a person who must 

be licensed that violates the act’s provisions on income advances. 



O L R  P U B L I C  A C T  S U M M A R Y  

 Page 2 of 4  

 

Provider Responsibilities 

 

The act obligates income advance providers to give borrowers certain 

disclosures, verify borrower income, reimburse overdraft or nonsufficient funds 

(NSF) fees in certain situations, prevent more than one income advance from being 

made against the same unpaid wage or salary income, and schedule payments for 

advances or finance charges on a single date within a certain timeframe after the 

advance. 

It also requires the providers to develop and implement policies and procedures 

to quickly respond to questions and complaints from borrowers. 

Borrower Disclosures. Under the act, before offering or providing an income 

advance to a borrower, the provider must clearly and fully disclose (1) any 

associated finance charge; (2) its cancellation policy; and (3) how to submit 

complaints about the provider to the banking department on the department’s 

website, including giving its link.  

And each time a provider solicits, charges, or receives a finance charge claimed 

to be voluntarily charged, agreed to, or paid, the act requires it to clearly and 

conspicuously inform the borrower of the following: 

1. the finance charge is voluntary; 

2. the borrower can select a finance charge of zero dollars; and 

3. the amount and frequency of income advances that a borrower may request 

or receive is not contingent on paying or agreeing to the voluntary finance 

charge, or having previously paid a finance charge. 

Under the act, providers must electronically have readily available for a 

borrower the date, amount, and finance charge of each income advance the 

borrower received during the last 12 months. They must similarly have available 

the total of all (1) income advances the borrower received for the current pay period, 

(2) finance charges for the advances, and (3) earned but unpaid wage or salary 

income for the pay period that has not been advanced to the borrower. 

Income Verification and Advance Limitations. The act requires providers to 

verify that a borrower’s earned but unpaid income at least equals the amount of the 

income advance. They can do this by using one of the following: 

1. payroll data from the borrower’s employer, 

2. electronic payroll data the borrower affirmatively authorizes the provider to 

access, or 

3. any similar data or other reasonable method the banking commissioner 

approves. 

The act requires providers to implement ways to prevent an income advance to 

a borrower who already received one from another provider against the same 

income. These measurers may include (1) policies and procedures requiring a 

review and analysis of data the provider has or controls on at least a six-month basis 

to identify an instance or pattern of a borrower receiving advances from multiple 

providers for a single pay period that exceeds the borrower’s earned but unpaid 

income for that period and (2) any similar measures the banking commissioner 

requires. 



O L R  P U B L I C  A C T  S U M M A R Y  

 Page 3 of 4  

Relatedly, under the act, providers must require borrowers to (1) attest that they 

understand that they may not receive more than one income advance from more 

than one provider against the same income or (2) give a similar attestation the 

banking commissioner approves. 

Finance Charges and Fees. The act requires that providers allow borrowers to 

cancel an income advance application, service, subscription, or program for free at 

any time. 

It also requires them to (1) offer to all borrowers at least one way per transaction 

to get the advance at no cost and (2) clearly explain how to use the no-cost option. 

If the provider charges or receives a finance charge, it must offer an approved 

borrower (1) an advance that is at least 75% of the borrower’s earned but unpaid 

income for the pay period or (2) not more than one advance for the pay period. 

Bank Fee Reimbursement and Payment Scheduling. Under the act, a provider 

must fully reimburse a borrower for any overdraft or NSF fee the borrower is 

charged by a depository institution that it caused by trying to be paid an income 

advance repayment amount or finance charge before the date or in a different 

amount than it told the borrower. 

Relatedly, the act requires providers to schedule repayment of an income 

advance amount or finance charge in a single payment on a date that corresponds 

with the date of the borrower’s next scheduled employer paycheck or direct deposit. 

However, this date cannot be more than 34 days after the borrower received the 

income advance. The act also requires the provider to reschedule repayment if (1) 

the borrower asks to reschedule it, (2) the borrower’s paycheck or direct deposit 

funds are not available, or (3) there is a payroll or similar error. In these cases, the 

repayment must occur over no more than three installments and on a later date or 

dates that the borrower agrees to when agreeing to the income advance. 

 

Prohibited Actions 

 

The act prohibits certain actions by these income advance providers, generally 

concerning fees and charges, borrower payments, and collection practices. 

By law, for violations of the small loan lending laws, the banking commissioner 

may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew a license; issue cease and desist orders; 

issue civil penalties; order restitution; or seek an injunction in court. The actions 

are generally subject to prior notice and a hearing. 

Fees and Charges. The act disallows (1) charging or receiving a total finance 

charge that exceeds the act’s $4 or $30 caps; (2) charging a late or deferral fee, 

interest, or any other penalty or charge for a borrower’s late repayment of or failure 

to repay an income advance or finance charge; (3) setting a voluntary finance 

charge of greater than zero as a default option; and (4) seeking a voluntary finance 

charge before telling the borrower how much he or she is approved to request. It 

also bars sharing any part of a finance charge paid by a borrower with an employer. 

Borrower Repayments. The act prohibits (1) requesting repayment of an income 

advance or finance charge from a borrower before the date of the borrower’s next 

scheduled paycheck or direct deposit from the employer or (2) accepting repayment 

by a credit or charge card. 
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Credit Review & Collection Practices. The act prohibits requiring a credit 

report or score or other credit-related information to determine a borrower’s 

eligibility for an income advance. It also prohibits reporting any information about 

a borrower’s nonpayment for an income advance or finance charge to a consumer 

reporting or consumer collection agency. 

Under the act, the following actions by an income advance provider to compel 

or try to compel a borrower to repay an income advance or finance charge are 

banned: 

1. using unsolicited telephone calls, 

2. filing a lawsuit against a borrower, 

3. using a third party for collection on the provider’s behalf, and 

4. selling an outstanding amount to a consumer collection agency for 

collection. 
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