CONNECTICUT COMMISSION ON CULTURE & TOURISM

Governor's Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism *and* Distinguished Advocates



ndustrious. Inventive. Enduring. As we celebrate our state's 375th anniversary, tonight's honorees embody the enduring spirit of those who have come before us. Their passion, energy and dedication motivates us all. The honorees have made lasting and outstanding contributions to Connecticut and beyond. They will be celebrated far into the future.

Tonight's program celebrates the accomplishments of our awardees who hail from all corners of our state. Their work reflects the way in which art, history, digital media and tourism intertwine to form a vibrant creative economy and a great state.

Join with me to congratulate the winners of the 2010 Governor's Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism and the Distinguished Advocates and thank them for their hard work and dedication.

Thank you all for your participation and support.

M. Jodi Rell Governor



Program

Performance

Connecticut State Troubadour, Lara Herscovitch

Welcome

Karen J. Senich, executive director, Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism

Governor M. Jodi Rell

Presentation of the 2010 Governor's Awards

Distinguished Advocates

Presented by Michael Price, chair and Karen J. Senich Fred T. Blish, Manchester Coleman H. Casey, Hartford John Frantzis, Middlebury Rose Gaudio Lamy, Wallingford Donna McCalla, Amston Marian O'Keefe, Seymour

Awards for Excellence

Barkley L. Hendricks, New London

Presented by Susan Hendricks, wife of 27 years and director of communication and manager of building and grounds, Lyman Allyn Art Museum, New London.

Connecticut Humanities Council, Middletown

Presented by Brenda R. Williams, Ph.D., Senior Associate Consultant for Noel-Levitz, a leader in higher education consulting; Professor Emeritus of English and Education at the University of New Haven; and Chair of the Board of Directors for the Connecticut Humanities Council from 2008-2009.

Diane Smith, West Hartford

Presented by Kenn Venit, media consultant, faculty member at Quinnipiac University and Southern Connecticut State University; and past president of the Connecticut Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

ESPN, Bristol

Presented by Trey Wingo, host of ESPN's *NFL Live* and *NFL Primetime;* and Andy Katz, senior writer for ESPN.com and a familiar face to UConn men's basketball fans.

Special Presentation

The CT State Capitol Preservation and Restoration Commission Presented by Walter W. Woodward Ph.D., State Historian and Assistant Professor of History at UCONN.

Closing Remarks

Reception

Special Presentation: Connecticut State Capitol Preservation and Restoration Commission

The Connecticut State Capitol Preservation and Restoration Commission formed in March 1972 was



Restoration Commission, formed in March 1972, was charged with obtaining funds for the restoration of the State Capitol, which took place from 1979 to 1989. The 12-member Commission continues to oversee the physical, historic and artistic integrity of the State Capitol and its grounds. Its members are:

Robert D. Harris, Jr., Chairperson, Woodbridge Representative Emil "Buddy" Altobello, Meriden Bernard P. Auger, Marlborough Senator Joseph J. Crisco, Jr., Woodbridge Raeanne V. Curtis, DPW Commissioner, Hamden Lorraine Guilmartin, West Hartford Charles B. Higgins, Tolland Sally Martin, Wethersfield William Morgan, West Hartford Thomas D. Ritter, Hartford John Ruffalo, III, East Haven Dr. Walter W. Woodward, State Historian, West Hartford





Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism



Genius of Connecticut

The award statuette, sculpted for CCT by Connecticut artist David Boyajian, is affectionately known as *CONNie*. It is a replica of Randolph Roger's statue entitled "The Genius of Connecticut" done in 1878. The original bronze figure was created to sit atop of the Connecticut State Capitol. The model stands in the lobby of the State Capitol Building.

Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism

Nicholas Bellantoni, State Archaeologist* Frank Borres Charles Bunnell Carolyn Cicchetti Arthur Diedrick Phillip Eliasoph Anne Elvgren Walter M. Fiederowicz Bruce Fraser, Executive Director, CT Humanities Council * Betty Hale Daniel Heffernan Helen Higgins, Executive Director, CT Trust for Historic Preservation Harvey Hubbell Herbert Jay Fritz Jellinghaus Reneson Loisel **Edward Marcus** Lawrence McHugh Ed McKeon Guy Ortoleva Paul Pozzi Michael P. Price, Chair Leo Redgate Clem Roy Rita Schmidt Ann Sheffer Will K. Wilkins Walter Woodward, State Historian * Ted Yudain

*Ex-officio members