

Connecticut Hall of Fame

HONORARY CHAIRMEN

Senate President Pro Tempore Donald E. Williams, Jr.

Senate Majority Leader *Martin M. Looney*

Senate Minority Leader John McKinney

Speaker of the House Christopher G. Donovan

House Majority Leader J. Brendan Sharkey

House Republican Leader Lawrence F. Cafero, Jr.

CHAIRMEN

Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, Jr.

Rep. Elizabeth Boukus

Sen. Anthony Guglielmo

Rep. Themis Klarides

STAFF

Executive Director D'Ann Mazzocca

Sr. Executive Assistant Sandra Forte'

Administrative Director Linda Towbin

Facilities Administrator Eric Connery For IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 5, 2011 Contact: Laurence Grotheer 860-240-8820

CT HALL OF FAME CEREMONY WELCOMES NEW INDUCTEES

Hartford – The co-chairs of the Connecticut Hall of Fame Committee, Senators Joseph Crisco (D-Woodbridge) and Anthony Guglielmo (R-Stafford Springs) and Representatives Elizabeth "Betty" Boukus (D-Plainville) and Themis Klarides (R-Derby) today hosted a formal induction ceremony at which the newest honorees were revealed and enshrined.

The Connecticut Hall of Fame, in the second floor atrium of the Legislative Office Building, recognizes current or former residents of Connecticut who have distinguished themselves in their profession and performed outstanding service to our state or nation.

This year's class – the fourth to be so honored – includes Noah Webster, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Captain Deane Keller, and Dr. Robert Ballard.

"Connecticut has been home for so many truly remarkable people over the years, each of whom made an indelible mark on American history and each of whom helped define our notable state," **Senator Crisco** said. "This year's class lives up to standards set by previous inductees -Icouldn't be more proud of the caliber of Connecticut residents we've chosen."

"Noah Webster's name and reputation are synonymous with his dictionary and correct spelling, but his interest was scholarship and education, and his ongoing legacy is the priority Connecticut has historically placed on its school system," **Senator Crisco** said. "Likewise, Harriet Beecher Stowe was an educator whose most famous book, <u>Uncle Tom's Cabin</u>, taught 19th century America the timeless lesson about the immoral nature of slavery."

The co-chairs said contributions made by this year's two other inductees were made more recently, but are no less historic.

"Captain Deane Keller, an artist, preserved for the world a literally priceless treasure trove of Italian fine art while serving in World War II, and then generated a most impressive collection afterward, including formal portraits of two U.S. presidents," **Senator Crisco** said. "Likewise Dr. Robert Ballard, best known for his discovery of the sunken Titanic, Bismarck, and PT-109, has gone on to become a global leader in deep-sea archaeology and geology." The Connecticut Hall of Fame is, "intended to recognize the outstanding achievements of Connecticut individuals," and, "serve as an educational tool for the great number of students who visit the state Capitol and Legislative Office Building." The co-chairs reminded all who attended today's ceremony the Hall of Fame functions with no state funding, reliant instead entirely upon contributions and donations.